Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Civic Center, Henderson, Texas

August 11-12, 2012

Saturday, August 11

The East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Civic Center in Henderson, Texas, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Sam Craig leading 293b. The opening prayer was offered by Robert Vaughn.

Leaders: Sam Craig 100; John Morris 85; Tom Owen 179; Tom George 436t; Steve Helwig 380b; Tim Jones 120; Leon Ballinger 297; Jane Goforth 128; Sonia Chin 42; Dale Redmon, Jr. 514; Buddy Ballinger 274t; Kris Wiggins 151; Jeb Owen 422b; Myrl Jones 142; Mike Hinton 544; Catherine Rogan 218; Rodney Ivey 416t; Baron Powers 239; Robert Handel 95b; Crystal Meadows 210; Sarah Huckaby 470; Aubrey Barfield 552; Joshua McClain 571; Dennis George 575; Donald Ross 558; Eddie Huckaby 40.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary/Arranging Officer—Carole Watts.


The class was brought to order with a warm welcome from Mayor Buzz Fullen and Councilwoman Pat Brack. Announcements were made by Sam Craig.

Leaders: Sam Craig 57; Tim McClain 31t; Margaret Wright and Elijah Fount Wright 268t; Brody Ross and Findley Ross 388; Silas Huckaby 421; Riley Owen 40; Ainsley Ross 78; Ainslie Allen 217; Jackson Owen 572; Scott Ivey 567; Wayne Jones 76b; Robert Gholson 559; Tollie Lee 50t; Stanley Smith 203; Jacob McClain 45t; Michele Rogan 196; Jo Pendleton 49b; Ben Copenhaver 516; Tommie Spurlock 140; Scott Curran 198; Loretta Jones and Lloyd Jones 463. Gaylon Powell offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The class brought back to order by Sam Craig leading 225t. Leaders: Ester Huckaby 358; Jo Elmore 148; Rick Foreman 543; J.T. Harechmak 230; Becca Short and Kristie Powell 159; Tamara Harris 35; Kyle Hearn 491; John Beard 282; Cheryl Foreman 385t; Ben Brown 505; Bob McLemore 522; Wanda Gregg 101t; Cassie Allen 355; Janie Short 212; Ron Ryan 569; Ryan Ross 450; Jerry Ryan 408.


Sam Craig brought class to order by leading 81. Leaders: Tammy Powell 414; Gary Rogan 276; Amy Peveto 47t; Morris Nelms 28t; Priscilla Wiggins 442t; Carter Cook 300; Cheyenne Ivey and Ainsley Ross 129; Ron Bemucho 449; Gaylon Powell 536; Sonny Erwin 464; Diane Ross 434; Kristie Powell 326; Billy Huckaby 47b; David Rousseau 119; Joan Smith 395t; Robert Vaughn 176t; Phylis Costner 222; Katherine Hamilton 112.

Sam Craig led 72 as the closing song. Tom Owen offered the closing prayer.

Saturday Night, August 11

A meal of Tex-Mex and good old American chicken was enjoyed Saturday night by approximately 45 singers at the Henderson Civic Center. After everyone had eaten their fill, the group gathered together and sang form “Harp of Ages.” New compositions were also introduced to the singers. The entire evening was a huge success and was enjoyed by everyone in attendance.

Sunday, August 12

The Sunday session of the East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was brought to order by Sam Craig leading 108t. Gary Rogan offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Sam Craig 313; Tom George 534; Buddy Ballinger 348t; Vickie Cook 335; Steve Helwig 189; Sarah Huckaby 98; Tim Jones 553; Leon Ballinger 195; Billy Huckaby 444t; Jane Goforth 138t; Sonia Chin 356; Dale Redmon, Jr. and Cassie Allen 540; Becca Short 68t; Tommie Spurlock 376; Tollie Lee 367; Kris Wiggins 235; Rodney Ivey and Steve Helwig 384; Mike Hinton 567; Catherine Rogan 508.


Sam Craig brought class to order leading 145t. Leaders: Stanley Smith 268b; Baron Powers 81; Robert Handel 137; Myrl Jones 491; Aubrey Barfield 193; Dennis George 133; Silas Huckaby 388; Brody Ross 401; Ainsley Ross 146; Findley Ross 45t; Carter Cook 142; Cheyenne Ivey and Ainsley Ross 31t; Eddie Huckaby 331b; Scott Ivey 380t; Wayne Jones 513t; Ryan Ross 299; Wanda Gregg 559; Loretta Jones and Lloyd Jones 464; Crystal Meadows 182; Michele Rogan 183.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Mike Hinton, John Morris, and Stanley Smith. Mike Hinton read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins. John Morris led 381t in their honor.

Stanley Smith read the names of the deceased as follows: Helen Meadows, Harrison Creel, Marie Ivey, Ernie Jett, and Bill Farris—Alabama; John Merritt—Mississippi; Juanita Hill—Florida; Joan Fritz—Minnesota; Susan Kerr, Leland Owen, Melba Howeth Warren, Dorothy Phillips, Roy Dale Phillips, Jesse Dixon, Tobie Utz—Texas; Lonnie Rogers—Georgia. He led 101b in their memory. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Gary Rogan.

Leaders: Donald Ross 402; Cassie Allen 242; Ben Copenhaver 479; Scott Curran 192; Janie Short 361; Gary Rogan 168; Tammy Powell 217; Amy Peveto 463. Buddy Ballinger offered prayer before lunch.


Sam Craig brought the class back to order leading 154b. Leaders: Morris Nelms 563; Sonny Erwin 511t; Priscilla Wiggins 365; Bill Crowley, Burl Russell, Diane Ross, and Gaylon Powell 298; Ron Ryan 473; Kristie Powell 379; Joan Smith 127; David Rousseau 87; John Morris 186; Sonia Chin 105b; Rodney Ivey and Cassie Allen 292b; Tollie Lee 41; Steve Helwig 392; Tom George 378b; Myrl Jones 497; Cassie Allen and Donald Ross 419; Tommie Spurlock 156; Ron Bemucho 500; Stanley Smith 172; Aubrey Barfield 171; Mike Hinton 400; Scott Ivey 443; Dennis George 512; Janie Short 387; Robert Vaughn 398b.

The Secretary reported that 363 people attended The East Texas Sacred Harp Convention from 9 states and 2 foreign countries. Eighty seven leaders led 168 songs.

Sam Craig led 395b as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Donald Ross, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts