Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing
(Cooper Book/The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision)

New Harmony Community Center, New Harmony, Texas

Saturday, March 10, 2012

The 33rd session of the Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Priscilla Wiggins leading 406. David Jones offered the opening prayer, and led 45t.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Priscilla Wiggins; Secretary—Tammy Powell. Committee appointments were made as follows: Nominations Committee—Diane Ross and Cheryl Foreman; Memorial Committee—Robert Vaughn and Kris Wiggins.

Leaders: Priscilla Wiggins 70t; Sonny Erwin 49t, 31b; Sue Utz 335 (CB), 288 (CB); Tammy Powell 559 (CB), 142 (CB); Donald Ross 445, 47t; Leon Ballinger 454, 46t; Monica Hill 388 (CB), 500 (CB); Gaylon Powell 380 (CB), 268t (CB); Cheryl Foreman 186 (CB), 448 (CB); Robert Vaughn 491, 490.


Sonny Erwin called class back together by leading 464 (CB). Leaders: Diane Ross 330t, 297; Ben Copenhaver 340, 254.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Robert Vaughn led 290 (CB) for the following sick and shut-ins: Nelly Rounsaval, Margie Nell, Toby Utz, Lawson Smith, A.A. Smith, Jr., Leland Owen, Doris Hanks, Sallie Foreman, Curtis Owen, and Edith Owen.

Kris Wiggins led 285t for the following deceased: John Merritt—Mississippi; Ernestine Pipkin and Marie Ivey—Alabama; Lonnie Rogers—Georgia; Gene Ursy and Susan Kerr—Texas. David Jones closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Myrl Jones 572 (CB), 491 (CB); Marceline Hardy 112 (CB), 172 (CB). David Jones offered the noon prayer.


Kris Wiggins called the class back to order by leading 99 (CB) and 235 (CB). Leaders: David Jones 242 (CB), 159 (CB); Kristie Powell 505 (CB), 543 (CB); Ron Bernucho 47b (CB), 463 (CB); Margaret Rounsaval 222 (CB), 332 (CB); Judy Hughes 516 (CB), 540 (CB); Donna McKay 282; Charity Vaughn 54t (CB), 224 (CB); Carole Watts 40 (CB), 571 (CB).

A business meeting was conducted. The Treasurer reported that all expenses were met. The Nomination Committee gave their report as follows: Chairman—Ben Copenhaver; Vice Chairman—David Jones; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Treasurer—Barbara Smith; Assistant Treasurer—Sue Utz; Chaplin—David Jones. Announcements were made.


Tammy Powell led 217 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Donald Ross 512; Sonny Erwin 511t (CB); Marceline Hardy 300 (CB); Judy Hughes 358 (CB); Sue Utz 404 (CB); Ben Copenhaver 39 (CB); Kris Wiggins 563 (CB); Robert Vaughn 206 (CB); Cheryl Foreman 478 (CB); Myrl Jones 183 (CB); Carole Watts 572 (CB); Charity Vaughn 212 (CB); Diane Ross 344; Kristie Powell 106; Ron Bernucho 107 (CB).

Priscilla Wiggins led 62 as the closing song. David Jones offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Priscilla Wiggins; Secretary—Tammy Powell