Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Tennessee State Convention

Second Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Five Points, Tennessee

Sunday, October 9, 2011

The 17th annual session of the Tennessee State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at Second Creek Primitive Baptist Church on the second Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Tim Reynolds leading 34b. Phil Summerlin offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Eddie Mash; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Clayton Ezell.

Leaders: Tim Reynolds 135, 107; Clayton Ezell 66, 119, 108b; Eddie Mash 91, 263; David Carlton 276, 118; Doris Littrell 358, 490; Caleb Dillehay 68b, 440; Judy Caudle 108t, 36b, 61.


Tim Reynolds led 63 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Angela Myers 155, 148, 479; Gravis Ballinger 74b, 78, 120; Michele Cull 39t, 39b, 128; Phil Summerlin 35, 460.


The class was brought back together by Eddie Mash leading 96. Leaders: Lucy Heidorn 88t, 30t, 89 (for Harrison Creel); Tom Robinson and Tim Reynolds 45t; Larry Ballinger 72b, 93; Arlene Richardson 405, 168, 143; Nelda Buie 335. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Eddie Mash.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Tim Reynolds leading 200. Leaders: Vella B. Gillespie 380; Phil Summerlin 350; Michele Cull 58; Clayton Ezell 236.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Phil Summerlin and Eddie Mash. Phil spoke and led 285t in memory of the following deceased: Travis Keeton, Marie Ivey, and Clarence McCool—Alabama; Bob Meek—Kentucky.

Eddie Mash spoke and led 472 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Lonnie Rogers, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Willodean Barton, Johnnie Chafin, Julietta Haynes, Harrison Creel, Kerene Box, Josie Hyde, Thelma Elliott, and Dorothy Ezell. Tim Reynolds offered prayer to close the memorial session.

Leaders: Gravis Ballinger 410t; Angela Myers 345b; Larry Ballinger 345t; Judy Caudle 177; Doris Littrell 100; Clayton Ezell, Vella B. Gillespie, Arlene Richardson, Iris Jean Durham, Reva Lee, Franklin Lee, Laris Ezell, Mina Belle Gillespie, and Nelda Buie 340, 358, 294, 135; David Carlton 176b; Caleb Dillehay 112, 111b (by request).

Announcements were made. Tim Reynolds led 209 as the closing song. Phil Summerlin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Eddie Mash; Secretary—Judy Caudle