Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Convention
(Cooper Book)

McMahan, Texas

May 28-29, 2011

Saturday, May 28

The 111th annual session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Convention held at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, McMahan, Texas, was called to order by Tom Owen leading 331t. He welcomed all who had come to sing and listen and led 68b and 453b. The morning prayer was offered by Elder Sonny Huckaby.

Leaders: Gary Rogan 567; Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates 82; Billy Huckaby 383; Kristie Powell 104; Alice Johnson 128; Chris Brown 95b; Judy Whiting 268b; Riley Owen 32t; Kris Wiggins 30b; Silas Huckaby 401; Shirley Figura 176t; Carter Cook 505; Donn Howard 484b; Jane Goforth 393t; Steve Helwig 376; Lynette Howard 511t; Earl Ballinger 155; Syble Adams 207; Trevor Howard 563; Rick Foreman 187; Johnny Lee 46.


Gary Rogan brought the class together leading 384. Tom Owen opened the business session stating that Vice-Chairman Gary Rogan would move up to the chairmanship after lunch. The floor was opened for nominations for Vice-Chairman. Bill Bailey was nominated and elected by acclamation. Nominations were requested for secretary. Bruce and Beverly Coates were re-elected. Scott Curran moved that this year’s singing be dedicated to the memory of George Jones, longtime singer and member of Bethel Church and that this year’s singing be designated the George A. Jones Memorial Convention. His obituary will be read as part of the memorial lesson. The motion was seconded and carried.

Leaders: Marilyn Murata 571; Wade Price 40; Cornelia Stanton 96; Blake Sisemore 98; Jonathan Pendleton 145b; Robert Vaughn 176b; Richard Ivey 222; Jessie Simon 45t; Donald Ross 419; Laura Densmore 482; Ryan Ross 99; Janie Short 192; Eli Hinton 40; Scott Ivey 210; Lindsey Wiggins and Jessica Foraker 543; Tollie Lee 101t; Paul Figura 377b; Diane Ross 434; Claudia Egelhoff 507b; Mike Moseley 134; Lauren Bock 140; Matt Hinton 38t; Abigail Webb 47t; David Wright 230; Kelsey Sunderland 276; David McPherson 72; Scott McCown 122; Jessica Garris 159. The prayer of thanks for our food was offered by Gaylon Powell.


Gary Rogan opened the afternoon session leading 511b. He appointed Amanda Bowles, Elder Sonny Huckaby, and Bill Bailey to the Memorial Committee. Leaders: Erica Hinton 270; Cassie Allen 242; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 52t; Josh Rogan 450; Judy Caudle 344; Jeff Adcock 108t; Jo Pendleton 397; Rodney Ivey 464; Sonny Erwin 430; Claudine Townson 68t; Mike Hinton 78; Amy Lee 268t; Lori Rodgers 216; Crystal Meadows 168; David Strayhorn 39; Rich Lee 69; Priscilla Wiggins 485; Morris Nelms 38b; Vickie Cook 63; Tamara Harris 220; Curtis Owen 442t; Leon Ballinger 120; Cheryl Foreman 66.


Bill Bailey opened this session by leading 335. Leaders: Kyle Hearn 49t; Katie Mahoney 193; Gaylon Powell 552; Linda Booker 199; Tammy Powell 189; Micah Rodgers 142; Zach Rogan 181; Katie Moseley 293b; John Baker 544; Catherine Rogan 217; Greg Bowles 277; Sonny Huckaby 35; Michele Rogan 522; Jeb Owen and Liz Owen 138t; Sarah Huckaby 356; Scott Curran 553; Amanda Bowles 331b; Vivian Rogan 282.

Announcements were made. Gary Rogan led 558b as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder Mike Moseley.

Sunday, May 29

The Sunday session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Gary Rogan leading 36b and 48t. He welcomed everyone, and prayer was offered by Johnny Lee.

Leaders: Gary Rogan 54; Bill Bailey 115; Bruce Coates, Beverly Coates, and Martha Aiken 171; Kevin Powell 39; Carter Cook 217; Reed Coates 400; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 133; Eli Hinton 277; Silas Huckaby 421; Olivia Powell 128; Chris Nicholson 484b; Paul Figura 401; Anna Hinton 40; Claudine Townson 500; David Wright 486; Riley Owen and Ainsley Ross 572; Claudia Egelhoff 50t; Jeff Adcock 563; Kelsey Sunderland 60; Matt Hinton 365; Judy Whiting 212; Blake Sisemore and Tom Owen 416t.


Bill Bailey opened the session leading 73t. Leaders: Erica Hinton 191; Johnnie Lee 273; Marilyn Murata 229; Steve Helwig 165; Shirley Figura 300; Chris Brown 30t; Cornelia Stanton 507b; Curtis Owen and Edith Owen 515; Laura Densmore 183; Scott Ivey 398b; Lauren Bock 470.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Amanda Bowles read the following list of the sick and homebound: John Merritt, John Seaton, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Lonnie Rogers, Leland Owen, George Holland, Craig Averill, Sallie Foreman, Pete Mathewson, S.T. Reed, Susan Kerr, Carolynn Anderson, Dan Fitzgerald, Fumie Murata, and Shisue Sugimoto. Amanda led 367.

Bill Bailey read the following names of the deceased: John Champkin-United Kingdom; Myrtle Wootten, Christine Gandy, Ernestine Pipkin, Corine Lacy, and Japheth Jackson—Alabama; Bob Meek—Kentucky; Jerry Enright—Illinois; George Seiler—New York; Tom Mahar—Pennsylvania; George Jones, Edwin Reed, Ada Smith Fisher, Thomas Smith, Earline Adams Vogt—Texas; Ethan Rogers—Minnesota; Mary Tominaga—California, the tornado victims in Alabama and Missouri, and the men and women who died in service to our country’s armed forces. Bill led 558b in their memory. Tom Owen read the obituary of Bro. George Jones, and Elder Sonny Huckaby commented about Bro. Jones, those who died in the recent tornadoes, and led 450 in their memory. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Curtis Owen.

Leaders: David McPherson 449; Cheyenne Ivey 465b; Amy Lee 31t; Rodney Ivey 380t; Judy Caudle 478; Earl Ballinger 356; Richard Ivey 202; Rick Foreman 75; Cassie Allen 355. A prayer of thanks for the meal was offered by Donald Ross.


Bill Bailey opened the afternoon session leading 406. Leaders: Donald Ross 422b; Josh Martin 210; Jessie Simon 45t; Syble Adams, Curtis Owen, and Tom Owen 47b; Ron Bernucho and Suzan Bernucho 463; Crystal Meadows 95t; Tollie Lee 319; B.P. Herrington 204; Cheryl Foreman and Tamara Harris 378b; Kris Wiggins 235; Diane Ross 293b; Russell Riepe 383; Sonny Erwin 336t; Jo Pendleton 283t; Ryan Ross 137; Jane Goforth 505; Leon Ballinger 297; Vickie Cook 99; Lindsey Wiggins 222; Rich Lee and Katie Mahoney 464; Janie Short 200; Priscilla Wiggins 70t; Mike Hinton and Matt Hinton 146; Morris Nelms 27; Kristie Powell and Gaylon Powell 337; Linda Booker 447t; Tammy Powell 216; Vivian Rogan, Michele Rogan, Catherine Rogan, and Zach Rogan 215; Sarah Huckaby, Billy Huckaby, Jeb Owen, and Liz Owen 559; Greg Bowles, Amanda Bowles, Scott Curran, and Michele Rogan 203.

The Chairman asked for announcements and thanked all who had attended and helped with the singing. He and the other officers closed the singing by leading “Blissful Hope”. Elder Sonny Huckaby offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Gary Rogan; Vice Chairman—Bill Bailey; Secretaries—Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates