Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Big Singing

Old Marshall County Courthouse, Benton, Kentucky

Sunday, May 22, 2011

In the absence of the Chairman, Frank Nichols, the morning session of the 128th annual Big Singing using The Southern Harmony, compiled by William Walker, was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by William Paris. The invocation was given by Randy Webber.

Leaders: Don Waggener 103; Tom Waggener 24b; Kerry Lovett 144; Joel Deckard 22t; Marcy Thobaben 16; Randy Webber 38; David Killingsworth 46; Tim Reynolds and Deborah Loftis 322; Don Waggener 20; Deborah Loftis 166; Kelly Grooms 77; James Eldridge 123; Rebecca Eldridge 89t; Katherine Eldridge 254; Adrian Eldridge and Virginia Eldridge 97; Matt Meacham 11; William Paris 3t; Marcy Thobaben 133. The following requests were led: William Paris 1; Joel Deckard 25b; Don Waggener 252; Matt Meacham 22t; William Paris 64.


William Paris called the afternoon session to order at 1:00 p.m. The welcome was given by Sheriff Kevin Byars. Tom Waggener led 103. William Paris gave a short instructional lesson.

Leaders: Don Waggener 256, 83; Tim Reynolds 40t, 125.

The memorial lesson for Bob Meek was led by Randy Webber and other singers from Louisville leading 213.

Leaders: Randy Webber 187; Kerry Lovett 89b, 159b; Gary Clark 51, 31t; Matt Meacham 296, 11; James Eldridge 123 (in honor of Frank Nichols); Tom Waggener 17b, 189; David Killingsworth 302; William Paris 68; James Thobaben and Marcy Thobaben 19t; Joel Deckard 82; Paul Fourshee 165t; Bob Cull 50; Annaliza Cull 276b; Michele Cull 275; Rebecca Eldridge 256; Deborah Loftis 277; Virginia Eldridge and Katherine Eldridge 51. Requests: David Killingsworth 332; Tom Waggener 116; William Paris 133, 8t.

William Paris led 334 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Frank Nichols; Secretary—Tim Reynolds