Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Carolina State Singing
in Memory of William Walker

Wofford College, Spartanburg, South Carolina

Saturday, March 19, 2011

The 17th annual session of the South Carolina State Singing in Memory of William Walker was held in the Burwell Building at Wofford College, Spartanburg, South Carolina, on Saturday before the third Sunday in March. The books used during the singing were The Sacred Harp (1991 Edition), The Christian Harmony (2010 Revision), and The Southern Harmony (1854 Edition). Dr. Doyle Boggs of Wofford College welcomed the participants. Nathan Rees taught an introductory lesson covering four shapes and seven shapes.

The first session was from The Sacred Harp. Jonathon Smith brought the class to order leading 59. John Hollingsworth offered prayer. Leaders: Jane Spencer 33b; John Plunkett 128 (in memory of Henry Zitterouer); Harry Eskew 40; Michael Spencer 354t; Bill Burns 551; Brent Holcomb 460; Dorothy Lane 312b; John Hollingsworth 164; Ken George 569b; Shannon Primm 129 (in memory of those who recently lost their lives in the Japanese disaster); Nathan Rees 48t; Steve Walker 107; Mary Baumeister 569t; Diane Eskenasy 155; Phillip Perrin 35; Roger Keane 178; Jonathon Smith 57; Jane Spencer 500 (for Hugh McGraw and Charlene Wallace).


Jonathon Smith brought the class back together by leading 131 (CH). A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jonathon Smith; Vice Chairman—Nathan Rees; Secretary—Jane Spencer; Arranging Committee—John Plunkett.

The following session was from The Christian Harmony. Leaders: Jane Spencer 318 (CH); John Plunkett 386 (CH); Becky Walker 291 (CH); Harry Eskew 82 (CH); Michael Spencer 465t (CH); Bill Burns 157 (CH); Brent Holcomb (CH); Dorothy Lane 109 (CH) (in memory of William Paschal Mabry); John Hollingsworth 486t (CH); Ken George and Jeanne Marsh 316 (CH); Shannon Primm 327 (CH).


Jonathon Smith brought the afternoon session to order by leading 70b (CH). Leaders: Steve Walker 167t (CH); Mary Baumeister 546b (CH); Diane Eskenasy 51 (CH); Phillip Perrin 129 (CH); Roger Keane 142 (CH); Leon Carnell 143 (CH); Frances Carnell 214 (CH).

The following session of song selections was leader’s choice. Leaders: Jonathon Smith 145 (SoH); Jane Spencer 64 (CH); John Plunkett 311b (SoH); Harry Eskew 252 (SoH); Michael Spencer 41 (SoH); Phillip Perrin 358; Brent Holcomb 441; Dorothy Lane 235 (CH); John Hollingsworth 204t (CH) (in memory of Benny Rigdon); Shannon Primm 205 (CH); Nathan Rees 140 (SoH); Mary Baumeister 6 (SoH); Robert Kelley 47 (SoH); Phillip Perrin 8 (SoH); Roger Keane 67b (CH); Frances Carnell 485; Leon Carnell 163b; Roger Keane 236; Robert Kelley 168b (SoH).

Jonathon Smith led 62 as the closing song. Nathan Rees offered prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jonathon Smith; Vice Chairman—Nathan Rees; Secretary—Jane Spencer