Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing
(Cooper Book/The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision)

New Harmony Community Center, New Harmony, Texas

Saturday, March 12, 2011

The 32nd session of the Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Kris Wiggins leading 171. David Jones offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Kris Wiggins; Secretary—Tammy Powell. Committee appointments were made as follows: Nominations Committee—Lindsey Wiggins; Memorial Committee—Gaylon Powell and Cheryl Foreman.

Leaders: Kris Wiggins 49t; Tammy Powell 179, 142; Gaylon Powell 174 (CB), 559 (CB); Cheryl Foreman 492, 48t; Sue Utz 335 (CB), 406 (CB); Lindsey Wiggins 442t (CB), 567 (CB); Nancy Hunter 573 (CB), 478 (CB); Charlie Soape 402, 403; Sonny Erwin 501, 391; Charity Vaughn 212 (CB), 213 (CB); Karen Rollins 297, 389.


Gaylon Powell called the class back to order by leading 438 (for Ralph Walston). Leaders: Cassie Allen 42, 203; Tina Walston 571 (CB), 572 (CB); Robert Vaughn 358, 373.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Gaylon Powell and Cheryl Foreman. Gaylon Powell led 546 (CB) for the following deceased: Janey Musick Smith, Ada Smith Fisher, Thomas Smith, Jane Smith, George Jones, Edwin Reed, and Lenette Dalton.

Cheryl Foreman led 264b (CB) for the following sick and shut-ins: Lonnie Rogers, Marian Grant, Toby Utz, Doug Webb, Sallie Foreman, Thomas Robinson, Dale Redmon, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Leland Owen, Doris Hanks, and David Rousseau (upcoming surgery). David Jones closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Carole Watts 384 (CB), 388 (CB); Kristie Powell 379, 106. The noon prayer was offered by David Jones.


Kris Wiggins led 326 to bring the afternoon session to order. Leaders: Ron Ryan 517 (CB), 465 (CB); Tollie Lee 138t (CB), 180 (CB); Myrl Jones 491 (CB), 183 (CB); Margaret Rounsaval 192 (CB), 137 (CB); Marcelene Hardy 112 (CB), 172 (CB); Chris Nicholson 558 (CB), 484 (CB); Tammy Powell 217 (CB); David Rousseau 447t (CB), 341 (CB); Sue Utz 282 (CB); Gaylon Powell 463 (CB); Cheryl Foreman 448 (CB); Lindsey Wiggins 472; Charlie Soape 45t; Sonny Erwin 454.

A business meeting was conducted. The Treasurer reported that all expenses were met. The Nomination Committee gave their report as follows: Chairman—Priscilla Wiggins; Vice Chairman—Tollie Lee; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Treasurer—Barbara Smith; Assistant Treasurer—Sue Utz; Chaplin—David Jones. Announcements were made of upcoming singings.

Leaders: Karen Rollins 293t (CB); Cassie Allen 436b (CB); Robert Vaughn 176b (CB); Kristie Powell 273 (CB); Ron Ryan 476 (CB); Tollie Lee 544 (CB); Myrl Jones 522 (CB); Margaret Rounsaval 450 (CB); Marcelene Hardy 189 (CB); Chris Nicholson 63 (CB); David Rousseau 179 (CB); Kim Vaughn 490; Natalie Fletcher and Cheryl Foreman 400, 401.

Kris Wiggins, Tammy Powell, Cheryl Foreman, and Lindsey Wiggins led 95t (CB) as the closing song. David Jones offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Kris Wiggins; Secretary—Tammy Powell