Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

J.L. White and Eclectic Harmony Singing

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Saturday, February 26, 2011

The 12th annual J.L. White and Eclectic Harmony singing was held at Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in February. John Plunkett welcomed everyone, and noted that a fourth book, the Georgian Harmony, would be included in the singing. He called the class to order leading 30t (WB). Andy Morse offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Laura Akerman; Secretary—Malinda Snow.

For the first hour, songs were selected from the J.L. White book. Leaders: John Plunkett 34t; Malinda Snow 268; Judy Mincey 490b (in honor of Raymond Hamrick); Peter Golden 544t; Tom Ivey 471; Andy Morse 513; Margie Dietz 100; Janet Wuichet 489; Herman Wilkinson 101t; Henry Johnson 52b; John Hollingsworth 154b; Billy Hollingsworth 34b; Bob Goodman 491b; Sharon Strong 518; Sandra Wilkinson 484t; Julie Seuss 447 (in honor of Curvaceous Bass); Leslie Hunter 159; Laura Akerman 526; Linda Thompson 155.


For the second hour, leaders chose songs from the Eclectic Harmony books. Leaders: Laura Akerman 33 (EH1); John Plunkett 66 (EH2); Malinda Snow 58 (EH1); Judy Mincey 10 (EH1) (in memory of Lee Rogers); Tom Ivey 80 (EH1); Andy Morse 79 (EH1); Margie Dietz 70 (EH1); Herman Wilkinson 64 (EH1); Billy Hollingsworth 38t (EH2); Henry Johnson 17 (EH2); Bob Goodman 56 (EH1); John Hollingsworth 16 (EH2). Herman Wilkinson offered the blessing before the noon meal.


During the afternoon, leaders chose songs from any of the three books previously used or from the Georgian Harmony. John Plunkett brought the class together leading 13 (GH). Leaders: Sharon Strong 34 (EH1); Sandra Wilkinson 57 (EH1); Julie Seuss 65 (EH1); Leslie Hunter 109 (GH); Cathy Tucker 110 (EH1); Laura Akerman 4 (EH1); Russ Hanson 71 (EH1); Carol Hanson 69 (EH1); Linda Thompson 335 (WB); John Plunkett 279 (WB); Malinda Snow 480 (WB); Judy Mincey 92 (EH1); Peter Golden 27 (EH1); Tom Ivey 2 (EH1); Andy Morse 7 (EH2); Margie Dietz 118 (GH); Henry Johnson 435 (WB); Billy Hollingsworth 87 (GH); Sharon Strong 82 (EH1); Sandra Wilkinson 496b (WB); Leslie Hunter 157 (WB); Cathy Tucker 47t (WB); Laura Akerman 47 (GH); Linda Thompson 143 (WB).

After announcements, John Plunkett led 60 (WB) as the closing song. John Hollingsworth offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Laura Akerman; Secretary—Malinda Snow