Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

W.L. Green Memorial and Baldwin County
Sacred Harp Convention (Cooper Revision)

Church of Christ Fellowship Hall, Bay Minette, Alabama

January 22-23, 2011

Saturday, January 22

The W.L. “Bill” Green Memorial and Baldwin County Sacred Harp Convention was held at the Church of Christ Fellowship Hall, Bay Minette, Alabama, on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in January. The class was brought to order by Bill Hogan leading 210. He welcomed the class, and led 36b. Danny Creel offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bill Hogan; First Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Senior Vice Chairman—J.A. Mosley; Secretary—Nancy Hogan; Arranging Committee—Nancy Hogan, Cassie Allen, and Alice Mosley.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 380t; J. A. Mosley 59; Nate Green and Norma Green 575; Alice Mosley 484; Nancy Hogan 543; Aubrey Barfield 220; Joe Nall 499; Robert Chambless 32t; Sharon DuPriest 229; Danny Creel 140; Nancy Van Den Akker 115; Scott Ivey 54t; Jewell Rowland 384; Rick Foreman 159; Jane Spencer 45b; Darlu Nall 277; Jim Goetz 225t.


Rodney Ivey called the class back to order by leading 478. Leaders: Wanda Gregg 559; Kevin Dyess 142; Joan Aldridge 572; Georgeanna Presnell 31t; Archie Covington 268t; Cooper Smith 348t; Sonny Erwin 464; Ernest Cockcroft 422b; Christine Gandy 463; Nathan Rees 98; Henry McGuire 133; Mary Amelia Taylor 411; Paulette Chavers 447t; Bill Aplin 567; Judy Chambless 336b; Steve Helwig 38t; Billy Kelly 100; Henry Guthery 450; Daphene Causey 137; Sue Bunch 268b; Judy Caudle 216; Karen Rollins 222; Edd Bass 309; Cheryl Foreman 385t; Tommie Spurlock 433; Reba Windom 505. The Southwest Mobile County Vocal Singers, including Bro. Cleo Murphy, Sis. Hester Gray, Sis. Rosie Mary Petteway, Sis. Mary Murphy, Sis. Sandra Steward, Bro. Willie Steele, and Bro. Edward Mitchell, sang “It Won’t Be Long” and “Shoutin’ on the Hill”. Stanley Smith led 519. Bill Hogan led the class in 369. John Plunkett blessed the food.


Aubrey Barfield called the class to order leading 96. Leaders: Margareth Hale and Lee Hale 155; Russ Scholz 513t; Susan Cherones 63; Bea Carnathan 80b; B.M. Smith 571; Cassie Allen 242; Emily Burleson 86; Voncile Nall 288; Shannan Guinn 290; Sarah Beasley 329; Morgan Bunch 102; Shelbie Sheppard 217; Jeff Sheppard 497; Sandie Scott 511t; Tim Taylor 189; John Kelley 405; Lloyd Jones and Loretta Jones 45t; Adrian Nall 393t; Becky Briggs 176t; Elder Bobby Willis 165; Gary Smith 507b; Ken Sundberg 474; Hubert Nall 264b; John Plunkett 70b; Wanda Capps 39.

Announcements were made. Rodney Ivey and Bill Hogan led 323t as the closing song. Bill Hogan offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, January 23

The Sunday session of the W.L. “Bill” Green Memorial and Baldwin County Sacred Harp Convention was brought to order by Bill Hogan leading 514. He welcomed the class, read Psalm 91, and led 68b. Aubrey Barfield offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 138t; J.A. Mosley 491; Nate Green and Norma Green 432; Alice Mosley 343; Nancy Hogan 84; Henry Johnson 89, 435; John Plunkett 533; Cheryl Foreman 524; Henry Guthery 522; Wanda Gregg 106; Scott Ivey 336t; Voncile Nall 48t; Shannan Guinn 417.


J.A. Mosley called the class to order leading 559. Leaders: Bea Carnathan 453b; Reba Windom 478; Cooper Smith 388; Jeff Sheppard and Kevin Dyess 183; Shelbie Sheppard 195; Loretta Jones 367; Sonny Erwin 488t; Cassie Allen 443; Steve Helwig 240; Nancy Van Den Akker 508; Jane Spencer 78; B.M. Smith 515; Joe Nall 161; Sharon DuPriest 186; Judy Caudle 273; Morgan Bunch 55; Gary Smith 99.


Bill Hogan called the class to order leading 163t. Tommie Spurlock and Stanley Smith conducted the memorial lesson. Tommie Spurlock spoke on behalf of the deceased, including Thurman Nall, Japheth Jackson, Billy Williams, Ford Bulger, Velma Byrd, Rhoda Norris—Alabama, Craig Allen, Ethel Ryals—Florida, Jerry Enright—Illinois, Bob Meek—Kentucky, George Seiler—New York. Tommie led 574.

Stanley Smith spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins, including Wilburn Ellison, Richard Delong, Sally Foreman, Margaret Spurlock, Thomas Robinson, Bud Oliver, Lonnie Rogers, S. T. Reed, Ben Patrick, Ethylene Patrick, Ernestine Pipkin, Mike Jones, Faye Jones, Milton Thrash, Willadean Thrash, Ginny Whitworth, Billy Hawthorne, Carmine Hawthorne, and Henry Shuman. Stanley led 283t. B.M. Smith offered prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Sarah Beasley 518; Judy Chambless 319; Rick Foreman 448. The class sang 369, and Hubert Nall offered thanks for the food.


Bill Hogan called the class to order leading 187. Leaders: Tim Jones 332; Nathan Rees 292b; Jim Goetz 218; Susan Cherones 239; Hubert Nall 192; Sue Bunch 148; Tommie Spurlock 112; Lloyd Jones and Loretta Jones 465; Becky Briggs 442t; Robert Chambless 145b; Sandie Scott 408; Stanley Smith 346; Aubrey Barfield 552; Kevin Dyess 132; Seth Holloway 274t; Jim Goetz 159; Cheryl Foreman and Rick Foreman 203; Steve Helwig 196; Sonny Erwin and Rodney Ivey 113; Nancy Van Den Akker and Wanda Gregg 40; Henry Johnson 154t. The Convention Committee led 146 and shared the parting hand of fellowship. Henry Guthery offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan, Vice Chairmen—Rodney Ivey and J.A. Mosley, Secretary—Nancy Hogan