Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Tennessee State Convention

Second Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Five Points, Tennessee

October 9-10, 2010

Saturday night, October 9

The 16th annual session of the Tennessee State Convention was called to order on Saturday night by Tim Reynolds leading 135. Darrell Swarens offered the evening prayer. Song selections are from the B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Edition.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Eddie Mash; Secretary—Sandie Scott.

Leaders: Tim Reynolds 73t; Clayton Ezell 500, 312; Alicia Williams 168, 143; Gary Smith 63, 507b; Kerene Box 107t, 146; Darrell Swarens 505, 511t. Earl Ballinger offered prayer.


Tim Reynolds brought the class back to order leading 427. Leaders: Marilyn Burchett 484, 229; Eddie Mash 78, 292b; Claudia Dean 293t, 203; Margie Norwood 119, 100; Seth Holloway 393t, 343; Sarah Beasley 519; Earl Ballinger 176t; Sandie Scott 571; Nelda Ezell 335; the Ezell family (Vella B. Gillespie, Kerene Box, Clayton Ezell, Nelda Ezell, and Thelma Elliot) 358.

Tim Reynolds led 132 as the closing song. Gary Smith offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, October 10

The Sunday session of the Tennessee State Convention held at Second Creek Primitive Baptist Church was called to order by Tim Reynolds leading 52t. Song selections are from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. He offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Tim Reynolds 73b; Clayton Ezell 66; Kerene Box 159; Sarah Beasley 406, 143 (by request); Earl Ballinger 224, 177; Claudia Dean 312b; Virginia Douglas 178.


The class was brought back to order by Tim Reynolds leading 84. Leaders: Thelma Elliot and Iris Jean Durham 399b; Eddie Mash 475; Gravis Ballinger 50b, 112; Josie Hyde 234; Gary Smith 480, 99; Kermit Adams 200, 67; Angela Myers 448b, 446; Paige Owens 63.


Eddie Mash led 318 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Steve Adams 331, 378t; Judy Caudle 182, 186; Margaret Keeton 187, 434 (for Gordon Wilkinson); Darrell Swarens 36b, 448t; Marilyn Burchett 225t, 49t; Sandie Scott 493, 472. Eddie Mash offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Tim Reynolds brought the afternoon session to order by leading 148. Leaders: Seth Holloway 254, 274t; Angela Myers 421; Alicia Williams 155; Josie Hyde and Darrell Swarens 236.

Marilyn Burchett and Darrell Swarens conducted the memorial lesson. Darrell spoke on behalf of the deceased and led 200 in memory of the following deceased: Jerry Enright—Illinois; Victoria Bolles—Massachusetts; George Seiler—New York; Lucille Thomas—Georgia; Billy Williams, H.J. Jackson, Thurman “Shorty” Nall, Willie Mae Moon, Clinton Ivey, Arley Harper, and Earl Harper—Alabama; Ray Tate—Arkansas.

Marilyn spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins and led 379 in honor of Aaron Wooten, Bob Meek, Doris Littrell, Clay Mattox, Frances Mattox, Art Gilmore, Jimmie Gilmore, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Anne Ballard, Clarence McCool, and Emily Boswell. Eddie Mash offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Earl Ballinger 299; Ezell family 294, 358; Margie Norwood 405; Steve Adams and Darrell Swarens 101t; Judy Caudle 97; Claudia Dean 179; Larry Ballinger 136; Sarah Beasley and Hazel Myhand 72b; Gary Smith 276, 40; Judy Caudle 455 (by request); Arlene Richardson 168; Tim Reynolds, Clayton Ezell and Iris Jean Durham 312b; Darrell Swarens 268; Vella B. Gillespie 408.

Announcements were made. Tim Reynolds led 45t as the closing song. Cleland Ezell offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Eddie Mash; Secretary—Sandie Scott