Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Etowah Christian Harmony Singing

Cummings Memorial Methodist Church, Horseshoe, North Carolina

Saturday, September 4, 2010

The 103rd Etowah Fall Singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in September. Song selections were from The Christian Harmony 1873 Walker Edition (CH), Christian Harmony Deason-Parris Revision (CHa), and New Harp of Columbia (NHC). Scott Swanton welcomed the singers. Rev. William Mendelstamm offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Scott Swanton; Hospitality—Chris Wilhelm; Secretary—Mary Baumeister.

Leaders: Scott Swanton 21 (CH), 129t (CH); Diane Eskenasy 51 (CH), 148 (CH); Don Wiley 169t (CH), 215t (CH); Dan Huger 214 (CH), 318 (CH); Mary Baumeister 194t (CH), 208b (CH); Chris Wilhelm 212b (CH), 212t (CH).


Leaders: Robert Varkony 182t (CH); Jean Allen 381A (CH), 381C (CH); Ann Strange 147t (CH); Leslie Booher 171t (CH), 328b (CH); Tina Becker 198 (CH), 207t (CH); Dot Lane 248b (CH), 327 (CH); Julianne Wiley 159t (CH), 132 (CH); Jeff Farr 210 (CH) as the lunch blessing. Rev. Mendelstamm offered a verse from the Methodist hymnal.


Don Wiley brought the class back to order by leading 381D (CH). Leaders: Anna Swanton and Caitlin Corl 255t (CH), 117 (CH); Diane Eskenasy 253 (CHa), 140 (CH); Jeff Farr 60 (NHC); Scott Swanton 135 (CH), 157b (CH); Diane Eskenasy 98b (CH); Don Wiley 266 (CH), 81t (CH).


Leaders: Dan Huger 52A (NHC), 77t (CH); Mary Baumeister 169b (CH), 64t (CH); Chris Wilhelm 113t (NHC), 88 (CH); Robert Varkony 223t (CH), 87t (CH); Ann Strange 245 (CH), 145 (NHC); Leslie Booher 188t (CHa), 80b (NHC); Tina Becker 25 (NHC), 76b (CH); Julianne Wiley 254b (CH), 339 (CH); Jeff Farr 24 (NHC); Anna Swanton and Caitlin Corl 55b (CH), 289b (CH).

Officers were selected for next spring’s singing. The class sang 200 (CH) as the closing song. Don Wiley offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Scott Swanton; Secretary—Mary Baumeister