Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Community Center, Henderson, Texas

August 7-8, 2010

Saturday, August 7

The East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Community Center in Henderson, Texas, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Sam Craig leading 491. Tom Owens offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Sam Craig 100; Robert Vaughn 274t; Aubrey Barfield 220; Leon Ballinger 192; Tollie Lee 225t; Tim McClain 440b; Shannan Quinn 146; Judy Chambless 563; Richard Ivey 356; Kevin Powell 200; Linda Booker 569; Dale Redmond 507b; Burl Russell 164; Eva Padgett 372; Robert Chambless 96; Linda Booth 287; Robert Handle 210; Scott Ivey 464.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts.


The class was brought to order with a warm welcome from Councilwoman Pat Brack and City Manager Mike Barrow. Announcements were made by Sam Craig.

Leaders: Sam Craig 553; Tim Jones 514; Rodney Ivey 567; Margaret Wright 276; Lindsey Wiggins 189; Mike Hinton 478; Gaylon Powell 532; Myrl Jones 183; Victoria Aplin 421; Nate Green and Norma Green 488t; Robert Gholson 572; Cassie Allen 549; Catherine Rogan 384; Jeb Owen 98; Tammy Powell 217; Judy Caudle 515; Beverly Coates 385t; Sarah Huckaby 268t; Kristie Harju 300; Chris Nicholson 558; Ashton Rodgers 112; Benjamin Bath 434; Bill Aplin 166; Cheyenne Ivey 31t; Paul Figura 77t

(in memory of Jerry Enright); Louis Hughes 138t; Crystal Meadows 400; Sonny Huckaby 450; Sonny Erwin 113; Baron Powers 239; Blake Sisemore 86. Prayer was offered by Tim McClain before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Sam Craig leading 57. Leaders: Robert Vaughn and Mac Bolton 282; Cheryl Forman 380t; Reba Windom 505; Lloyd Wright 559; Donald Ross 195; Janie Short 120; Shirley Figura 422b; Shelbie Sheppard 106; Ron Ryan 470; John Beard 75; Michele Rogan 47b; Bruce Coates 571; Scott Curran 196; Diane Ross 142; Micah Rodgers 171; Riley Owen 278b; Gary Rogan 270; Ryan Ross 404; Lori Rodgers 139; Tom Owen 49b.


Sam Craig brought the class to order leading 145t. Leaders: Silas Huckaby 388; Liz Owen 299; Billy Huckaby 411; Amanda Bowles 99; Esther Huckaby 159; Zach Rogan 398b; John Morris 395b; Joan Smith 127; David Rousseau 447t; Tollie Lee and Tom Owen 544; Leon Ballinger and Richard Ivey 182; Rodney Ivey and Cheyenne Ivey 465; Jeff Shepherd 442t; Phyllis Costner 222; Shirley Williams and Crystal Meadows 40; Rick Forman 119; Catherine Hamilton 155.

Sam Craig led 154b as the closing song. Gaylon Powell offered the closing prayer.

Saturday night, August 7

Saturday night a Tex-Mex supper was enjoyed by approximately 55 singers at the Community Center. After everyone had eaten, the group gathered together and sang from “The Harp of Ages”. Four new compositions were introduced to the singers. The evening was enjoyed by all in attendance.

Sunday, August 8

The Sunday session of the East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was brought to order by Sam Craig leading 283t. Sonny Huckaby offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Sam Craig 225t; Priscilla Wiggins 463; Judy Chambless 28t; Kris Wiggins 82; Rick Foreman 68t; Shannan Quinn 341; Riley Owen 572; Shelbie Sheppard 211; Robert Chambless 72; Aubrey Barfield 193; Cheryl Foreman 140; Jeff Sheppard 497; Bill Aplin 528t; Richard Ivey 416t; Ashton Rodgers 155; Kevin Powell 522; Linda Booker 569; Micah Rodgers 470; Dale Redmond 514; Eva Padgett 215.


The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 134. Leaders: Linda Booth 38t; Eddie Huckaby 63; Leon Ballinger 280; Robert Handel 137;

Scott Ivey 54t; Tollie Lee 519b; Ben Bath 319; Mike Hinton 78; Victoria Aplin 406; Shirley Figura 30b; Tim Jones 543; Lindsey Wiggins and Grady Bates 553; Judy Caudle 575; Cassie Allen 433; Louis Hughes 133 (in honor of Morris Nowlin); Gaylon Powell 482; Nate Green and Norma Green 44.

Sam Craig, John Morris, and Bruce Coates conducted the memorial lesson. John Morris read the names of the following deceased: Bill ElIason—Missouri; Marlin Nelms, Myra Palmer, Linda Henthorn, Martha Lou Riley, Ovilla Summers, Ada Smith Fisher, Margie Russell—Texas; Jerry Enright, Larry Devocelle—Illinois; Japeth Jackson, Thurman Nall, Ford Bulger, Billy Williams, Clinton Ivey—Alabama; Cindy Kissee—Minnesota; Louis Allen—Georgia; George Seiler—New York. Revelations 2:2-3 was read. Sam Craig led 430 in their memory.

Bruce Coates read the names of the sick and shut-ins and led 546 in their honor.

Leaders: Paul Figura 488b; Rodney Ivey 552; Reba Windom 478. Robert Vaughn offered prayer before lunch.


Sam Craig brought the afternoon session to order by leading 313. Leaders: Janie Short and Rebecca Short 293b; Joel Livsey 47b; Ainsley Ross, Riley

Owen, and Silas Huckaby 401; Blake Sisemore 168; Kristie Harju 536; Catherine Rogan 36b; Jeb Owen 68b; Tammy Powell 216; Donald Ross 284; Scott Curran 218; Greg Bowles 85; Beverly Coates 198; Amanda Bowles 42; Sarah Huckaby 67; Chris Nicholson 95b; Crystal Meadows 29b; Michele Rogan 183; Sonny Huckaby 35; Sonny Erwin and Cassie Allen 540; Diane Ross 53; Bruce Coates 39; Tom Owen 336t; Ryan Ross 212.

Sam Craig led 503 as the closing song. Donald Ross offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts