Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mount Pisgah Singing Society (Cooper Book)

Mount Pisgah Primitive Baptist Church, Stroud,
Chambers County, Alabama

Saturday, May 22, 2010

The annual all-day singing of the Mount Pisgah Singing Society (organized in 1903) met at Mount Pisgah Primitive Baptist Church, and was called to order by Karen Clark at 9:00 a.m. Ed Thacker offered the morning prayer.

After welcoming everyone, Karen Clark led 376. The following officers were appointed to serve: President—Karen Clark; 1st Vice President—Rodney Ivey; 2nd Vice President—David Lee (appointed to fill in for Shane Wooten); Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Don Clark and Laura Densmore.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 356; David Lee 81; Donna Bell 507b; Don Clark 186; Ken Kelley 86; Nell Estes 192; Floy Wilder 297; Jack Nelson 165; Judy Chambless 138t; Gavin Blakeley 189; Stanley Edwards and Aymeric Lefebvre 58; Sue Bunch 268b; Bill Hogan 464; Frank Strickland 100; Billy Kelley 442t; B.M. Smith 38t (in honor of Lonnie Rogers and in memory of Virgil Phillips and J.L. Edge); Louis Hughes, Jr. 395b; Claudine Townson 68t; Eugene Forbes 522; Jeff Sheppard 422b.


B.M. Smith called the second session of singing back to order leading 559. Leaders: Hubert Nall and Rodney Ivey 299; Nate Green and Norma Green 54t; Sandra Wilkinson 515; Michael Spencer 455b; Jonathan Blakeley 85; Marion Patrick 358 (in memory of Eleanor Clark); Morgan Bunch 428; Loretta Jones and Lloyd Jones 45t; Velton Chafin 462; Lela Crowder and Robert Kelley 444b; Gaston White 276; Fred Hoerr and Marty Hoerr 285t; Andy Morse 416t; Ed Thacker 39; Alice Bejnar and Tor Bejnar 145b (for John Scarlata).


The final morning session began with Rodney Ivey leading 557. Leaders: Royce Sellers 440b; Brenda Merritt 567; Ross Brand and Ashley Ivey 133; Bill Aplin and Victoria Aplin 166; George Burdette, III 335; Louis Hughes 137; Matt Hinton 470; Helen Bryson 365; Jonathon Smith 433; Pete Mathewson 488t; Henry Johnson 30t; Stanley Smith 140 (by request); Jane Spencer 273; Tom George 535b. Elder Ben Keeble blessed the noon meal at the tables.


Karen Clark and David Lee called the afternoon session to order leading 96. Leaders: Robert Chambless 143 (in memory of John Etheridge); Sharon Collins 283t; Lonnie Rogers and Karen Rollins 141; Shannon Primm 114t; Judy Caudle 380t; John Plunkett 460; Cassie Allen 552; Buell Cobb 52b; Eva Padgett 242; Nancy Hogan 319; Dennis George and Jarrod George 478; Charlotte Bishop 229 (by request of Lonnie Rogers); Nathan Rees 98; Syble Adams 485; Karen Willard 529; Dave Richardson 537; Laura Densmore 482; Gaylon Powell 91.


Cassie Allen brought the final session of singing to order leading 491. Leaders: Brian Kelley 112; Richard DeLong 524; Susie Mathewson 575; David Lee and Syble Adams 505; Matt Hinton 300; Robert Kelley and Lela Crowder 344; Jonathon Smith 215; Michael Spencer 380b; Pete Mathewson and Susie Mathewson 367; Nathan Rees 286b; Cassie Allen, Eva Padgett, and Rodney Ivey 292b (in memory of Thurman Nall and John Etheridge); Dave Richardson 435; Ross Brand and Stanley Smith 210; Gaylon Powell 563 (in memory of Ophelia Matthews); Karen Willard 573; Laura Densmore and Karen Clark 386 (in honor of Carol Buche).

Following announcements, officers of the singing led 62 as the closing song while those who wished took the parting hand. Jack Nelson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

President—Karen Clark; 1st Vice President—Rodney Ivey; 2nd Vice President—David Lee; Secretary—Donna Bell