Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shady Grove Church

Dutton, Alabama

Sunday, May 2, 2010

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Shady Grove Church, Dutton, Alabama, on the first Sunday in May was called to order by Eddie Brown leading 39t. The morning prayer was offered by Ben Barrentine.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Eddie Brown; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Eddie Brown 48t; Rex Wilks 33b; Kevin Brown and Cody Brown 147t, ìHoly Mannaî; Tim Dalton 448t; Joan Wilks 503; Charlotte Heard 563 (CB); Matthew Brown 186; Greg Rogers 45t; Ben Barrentine and Kim Barrentine 30b; Loyd Ivey 201; Darlene Dalton 309; Rachel Shavers 74b; Andrew Brown 277; Pam Wilkerson 378b.


Mark Brown brought the class to order by leading 312b. The memorial service was conducted by Ronda Arnold. Leaders: Meadows family 454, 348b; Gilbert family 143; Carroll and Brown families ìHeíll Hold My Handî; Ellis family ìIt Is Well With My Soulî; Delmar Brown family ìWhat A Day That Will Beî; Arlon Carroll family 36b; Chester Wootten family 572 (CB); Jessie Wootten family 97; Johnson family 559 (CB); Kessler family ìSweet Beulah Landî. Ronda Arnold led 63 for all other families and sick and shut-ins (Ralph Brown, Earl Bradshaw, and Ethel Gilbert). The memorial service was closed with prayer offered by Aaron Little.


The afternoon session was called to order by Eddie Brown leading 448b. Leaders: Shane Wootten 56b; Mark Carroll 460; Ronda Arnold 270; Claudine Townson 140 (CB); Eloise Wootten 276; Rodney Ivey 133 (CB); Samuel Sommers 96; Aaron Little 354t; Tim Travis and Karen Travis 29t; Marlon Wootten 49t; Dennis George 28t; Melanie Hauff 32b; Michael Thompson 77t; Syble Adams 484 (CB); Jackson Harcrow 385b; John Shavers 76b; Tom George 215; Susan Harcrow 383; Brian Maxwell, Jaren Maxwell, Avalea Maxwell, Anzlea Maxwell, Rion Maxwell, Gavin Maxwell, and Isaac Maxwell 46; Judy Hauff 547; Marty Wootten and Jamey Wootten 384; Judy Caudle 564; Ricky Harcrow 434; Lorrie Wootten 323t; Jared Wootten 475; Pam Wilkerson and Loyd Ivey 424; Darlene Dalton 488b (CB); Brenda Carroll, Carolyn Bullock, Donna Derden, and Marlon Wootten 163t.

Eddie Brown and Mark Brown led 176b as the closing song. Elder Ricky Harcrow offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Eddie Brown; Secretary—Judy Caudle