Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Harrods Creek Shape Note Convention

Harrods Creek Baptist Church, Brownsboro, Kentucky

April 24-25, 2010

Saturday, April 24

The 15th annual Harrods Creek Shape Note Convention at Harrods Creek Baptist Church was held on Saturday and Sunday before the first Saturday in May. Bob Meek called the class to order by leading 32t, followed by welcome and announcements from Michele Cull. Jim Herr offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Michele Cull; Vice Chairperson—Rebecca Eldridge; Finance Committee—Liz Meitzler; Arranging Committee—Brenda Waters, Chandler Bainter, Rebecca Eldridge, and Stephanie Fida; Secretaries—Bob Meek and Pat Meek.

Leaders: Clara Herr 564; Levi Bainter 362 (CB); Marilyn Burchett 335; Logan Hatfield 282; Steve Duff 256 (SoH); Shawn Fenton 28 (SoH); Tim Reynolds 33 (SoH); Greg Creech 209; Laura Morton 163b; Ray Rechenberg 68b. Bufford Parish, deacon from Harrods Creek Baptist Church, spoke and welcomed everyone.


Leaders: Virginia Eldridge 203; Ester Crookshank 63; Adrian Eldridge 480; Jim Herr 313t; Elizabeth Rechenberg 106; Jim Helke 511t (CB); Sandie Scott 408 (CB); Rich Overturf 100; Brad Bahler 143 (SoH); Annaliza Jane Cull 82t; Karen Bahler 332; Ann Miczulski 101t; Nikos Pappas 87 (SoH); Greg Howard 547; Loraine Bayer 89t (SoH); David Casenhiser 571 (CB); David Carlton 411 (CB); Jubal Bayer 300.


Leaders: Michele Cull 542; Susan Zurcher 66; Shirley McKee 551; Hans Bayer 481; Thomas Smith 122; Joe Manning 107; John Bayer 39 (CB); Earlene Cunningham 178; Darrell Swarens 189; Mary Brinkman 313b; Peggy Brayfield 484 (CB); Stephanie Fida 377. Jimmy Vest offered prayer before the noon meal.


The class was called back together for the afternoon session by Michele Cull leading 318. Leaders: Katherine Eldridge 346; Wayne Dell 572 (CB); Liz Meitzler 77t; Walt Scaff 79; Joel Deckard 499; Nate Zweig 337; James Page 173b (SoH); Tim Morton 424; Ruth Dolby 277; Katie Duff 117; James Eldridge 133 (SoH); Eddie Mash 28 (SoH); Randy Webber 265 (SoH); Michele Cull 236.


Leaders: Jim Crawford 546; Tom Morton 368; Rebecca Eldridge 16 (SoH); Laura Earles 148; Doug Trent 276; Carol Crawford 331b (SoH); Chandler Bainter 349; Jeff Fife 155; Sue Duff 36b; Joan Frankel 50 (SoH); Bob Meek 488b (CB).

Following announcements, Rebecca Eldridge led 46 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Jim Herr, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, April 25

The Sunday session of the Harrods Creek Shape Note Convention was called to order by Bob Meek leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Jim Herr.

Leaders: Bob Meek 209; Stephanie Fida 36t; Rebecca Eldridge 127; Tim Morton 472, 112; James Eldridge 29t, 445; Doug Trent 59, 49b; Virginia Eldridge 535, 318; Walt Scaff 503, 47b; Darrell Swarens 72b, 208; Wayne Dell 159, 457; Seamus Allman 146, 53; Steve Duff 328, 454; Jim Helke 229, 336t (CB).


Leaders: Brenda Waters 515; Peggy Brayfield 556; Ruth Dolby 463 (CB); James Page 121 (SoH); Clara Herr 84; Mary Brinkman 322 (SoH).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Darrell Swarens and Eddie Mash. Darrell Swarens led 81t in honor of the sick and shut-ins. Eddie Mash led 163b in memory of the deceased.

Leaders: Liz Meitzler 392 (CB); Janet Fraembs 563 (CB); Jim Crawford and Carol Crawford 315; Annaliza Cull 268; Nate Zweig 276b (SoH). The prayer for the noon meal was offered by Mike Grimes.


Adrian Eldridge brought the class back to order for the afternoon session by leading 171. Leaders: Joel Deckard 134; Sue Duff 110; Annaliza Cull and Levi Bainter 393t (CB); Randy Webber (Handout); Eddie Mash 61 (SoH); Mike Grimes 574 (CB); Bob Cull 569b; Katie Duff 572 (CB); Liz Meitzler 133; John Bealle 32t; Johann Kim 339; Carol Crawford 76 (SoH); Joan Frankel and Bob Meek 25t (SoH); Laurel Cornell 143; Jim Herr 182; Katherine Eldridge 114; Carol Savkovich 178; James Vest 122 (SoH); Tom Morton 147t; Michele Cull 448t.

Following announcements, Michele Cull led 347 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Jim Herr, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Michele Cull; Vice Chairperson—Rebecca Eldridge; Secretaries—Bob Meek and Pat Meek