Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jones Memorial Singing (Cooper Book)

Cool Springs Primitive Baptist Church, Opp, Alabama

Saturday, April 3, 2010

The annual Jones Memorial Singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in April at Cool Springs Primitive Baptist Church in Opp, Alabama. The class was called to order by Mike Jones leading 135 and 36b. Aubrey Barfield offered the opening prayer. The introductory lesson was directed by Tommie Spurlock leading 90, 270, and 183.

Leaders: Joe Nall 461, 50b; Aubrey Barfield 171, 522; Shannon Quinn 393t, 229; Myrtle Richburg 450, 300; Adrian Nall 358, 505; Voncille Nall 442t, 146; Ernest Cockcroft 411, 422t; Genny Whitworth 170, 436t.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Mike Jones; Vice Chairman—Wayne Jones; Secretary—Rhonda Harrison; Arranging Committee—Barbara Jones.


Mike Jones called the class back to order leading 330t. Leaders: Morgan Bunch 277; Sue Bunch 138t; Mary Whitehurst 44; Velton Chafin 373; Ken Tate 511t; Ed Bass 563; Learvene Bass 72; Stanley Smith 410; Victoria Aplin 60; Bill Aplin 567; Billy Kelley 100; John Kelley 405; Danny Creel 404; Ken Kelly 464; Kathy Folsom 63; Paulette Chavers 47t.


The class was called to order by Wayne Jones leading 76b. Leaders: Frank Strickland 164; Ken Sundberg 344; James Gardner 331t; Janet King 148; Chip Westbrook 398b; Linda Westbrook 465; Waylon Cravey 84; Bill Farris 559; Agnes Farris 378t; Eva Padgett 156; Christine Gandy 127. The class sang 369, followed by a blessing of the noon meal by Tim Jones.


The afternoon session was called to order by Tim Jones leading 368b. Leaders: Larry Shaw 463; Alice Sundberg 511b; Brenda Merritt 133; Tim Jones 355; Wayne Jones 553; Barbara Jones 558; Marlene Hughes 174; Wilburn Ellison 447t; Lera Ellison 94; Judy Caudle 380t; Brad Wood 515; Brittany Jones and Brynne Jones 139; Lloyd Jones 45t; Chad Wood 500; Jill Jones 35; Cathy Parker and Cynthia Sasser 341; Rhonda Harrison 573; Brian Kelley 89; Loretta Jones 497; Tammy Blue and Courtney Blue 348t; Ashley Kilpatrick 401; Janice Gardner 571; Stanley Smith 235 (by request).

Announcements were made. Mike Jones led 385t as the closing song, and James Gardner dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Mike Jones; Vice Chairman—Wayne Jones; Secretary—Rhonda Harrison