Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing
(Cooper Book/The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision)

New Harmony Community Center, New Harmony, Texas

Saturday, March 13, 2010

The 31st session of the Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Crystal Meadows leading 34b. David Jones offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Crystal Meadows; Vice Chairman—Priscilla Wiggins; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Nominations Committee—Evelyn Lamb-Caika and Lindsey Wiggins; Memorial Committee—Priscilla Wiggins and Kris Wiggins.

Leaders: Crystal Meadows 171; Priscilla Wiggins 282 (CB), 70 (CB); Tammy Powell 138t (CB), 497 (CB); Sonny Erwin 480, 454; Johnny Hartman and Sue Utz 475 (CB), 335 (CB); Leon Ballinger 280 (CB), 137 (CB); Evelyn Lamb-Caika 505, 501; Kris Wiggins 522, 522 (CB); Cheryl Foreman 312 (CB), 380t (CB); Chris Nicholson 72 (CB), 73t (CB); Ron Ryan 415, 392.


Priscilla Wiggins called the class back together by leading 276 (CB). Leaders: Gaylon Powell 554 (CB), 454 (CB); Tollie Lee 544 (CB), 436t (CB); Cassie Allen 392 (CB), 341 (CB).

The memorial lesson was conducted. Kris Wiggins led 491 (CB) for the following deceased: Myra Palmer, Ophelia Matthews, Dick Steil, and Margie Russell. Priscilla Wiggins led 285t (CB) for the following sick and shut-ins: Marian Grant, Adelaide Vaughn, Toby Utz, Don Huckaby, Dan Brittain, Margaret Rounsaval, Ada Fisher, Marceline Hardy, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Leland Owen, and Doris Hanks. Gaylon Powell closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Robert Vaughn “Palmer” (Robert wrote the song in memory of Myra Palmer), 153 (CB); Myrl Jones 142 (CB), 183 (CB); A.A. Smith, Jr. 573 (CB), 572 (CB). The noon prayer was offered by David Jones.


Crystal Meadows called the afternoon session to order by leading 32t. Leaders: David Rousseau 179 (CB), 119 (CB); Lindsey Wiggins 131t (CB), 524 (CB); Sherry Vaughn 571 (CB); Peggy Ray 64 (CB), 67 (CB); Sonya Kirkham 40 (CB), 447t (CB); Carole Watts 563 (CB), 559 (CB).

A business meeting was held. The Treasurer reported that all expenses were met. The Nomination committee gave their report as follows: Chairperson—Priscilla Wiggins; Vice Chairperson—Kris Wiggins; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Treasurer—Barbara Smith; Assistant Treasurer—Judy Hughes; Chaplin—David Jones. Announcements were made.

Leaders: Charity Vaughn and Leon Ballinger 212, 313b; Sonny Erwin 198 (CB); Sue Utz 393t (CB), 463 (CB); Evelyn Lamb-Caika 35; Kris Wiggins 569b; Cheryl Foreman 475; Chris Nicholson 507b (CB); Ron Ryan 358 (CB); Gaylon Powell 174 (CB); Tollie Lee 511t (CB); Robert Vaughn 511b (CB); Myrl Jones 189 (CB); A.A. Smith, Jr. 53; David Rousseau 159 (CB); Lindsey Wiggins 567 (CB); Peggy Ray 31t (CB); Sonya Kirkham 268t (CB); Carole Watts 344.

Crystal Meadows led 62 as the closing song. David Jones offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Crystal Meadows; Vice Chairman—Priscilla Wiggins; Secretary—Tammy Powell