Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of Georgia

State Botanical Garden, Athens, Georgia

Sunday, February 28, 2010

The 38th session of the University of Georgia singing was held at the State Botanical Garden Visitor’s Center in Athens, Georgia, on the fourth Sunday in February. The class was called to order by John Garst leading 82 (ScH). John Hollingsworth offered the morning prayer. John Garst welcomed everyone, and led 33b (ScH).

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Hollingsworth; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretaries—Shannon Primm and Jane Spencer; Arranging Committee—Judy Mincey; Memorial Committee—Judy Mincey and Robert Kelly.

The Social Harp, by John Gordon McCurry, was used for singing in the morning session. Leaders: John Hollingsworth 34 (ScH); Michael Spencer 37 (ScH); Shannon Primm and Jane Spencer 193 (ScH); Judy Mincey 152 (ScH); Michael Thompson 182 (ScH); Oscar McGuire 83 (ScH); Jeannette DePoy 129 (ScH); Billy Hollingsworth 159 (ScH); Lela Crowder 137 (ScH); John Plunkett 51 (ScH); Robert Kelly 70 (ScH); Sue Bunch 30 (ScH); Peter Golden 208t (ScH).


Michael Spencer called the class back to order leading 200 (ScH). Leaders: Jackie Elsner 156 (ScH); Richard DeLong 154 (ScH); Charles Woods 68 (ScH); Martha Ann Stegar 131 (ScH); Gene Pinion 120b (ScH); John Hollingsworth 86 (ScH); John Garst 35b (ScH); Morgan Bunch 146 (ScH); Bruce King 55b (ScH); Earlis McGraw 60 (ScH); Shannon Primm 183 (ScH); Caroline Parsons 160 (ScH); Judy Mincey 202 (ScH); Michael Thompson 87 (ScH); Charlene Wallace 207 (ScH); Oscar McGuire 204t (ScH); Jeannette DePoy 109 (ScH); Lela Crowder 100 (ScH); John Plunkett 103 (ScH); Robert Kelly 195 (ScH); Sue Bunch 196b (ScH); Peter Golden 125 (ScH); Michael Spencer 253 (ScH); Jackie Elsner 155 (ScH); Richard DeLong 31 (ScH); Charles Woods 28 (ScH); Martha Ann Stegar 204b (ScH); Gene Pinion 98 (ScH); Morgan Bunch 218 (ScH); Bruce King 173 (ScH).


The afternoon session of singing was from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision. John Hollingsworth called the class to order leading 37b. Leaders: Earlis McGraw 148; Billy Hollingsworth 236; Holly Mixon 99; Charlene Wallace 186; Winston Stephens 503; B.M. Smith 475; John Widmore 40; Ken George 569b; Caroline Parsons 335; John Garst 37t; Michael Spencer 382; Michael Thompson 198; Oscar McGuire 344; Lela Crowder 106; John Plunkett 325; Robert Kelly 316; Sue Bunch 66; Peter Golden 107; Jackie Elsner 282.


John Hollingsworth called the class back to order leading 138t.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Judy Mincey and Robert Kelly. Judy Mincey led 111b in memory of Paul King—Alabama; Frank Block and Margaret DeBolt—Georgia; Joan Silaghia Dumitrescu—Romania; and Victoria Bolles—Massachusetts.

Robert Kelly led 330b for the following sick and shut-ins: Violet Thomason, Xaris Martinez, Robert Brown, Raymond Hamrick, and Lonnie Rogers. John Hollingsworth closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Martha Ann Stegar 47t; Gene Pinion 46; Morgan Bunch 112; David Grant 136.

John Hollingsworth led 62 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by John Plunkett.

Chairman—John Hollingsworth; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Secretaries—Shannon Primm and Jane Spencer