Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hyde Park All-Day Singing

University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

Saturday, October 31, 2009

The 11th annual Hyde Park All-Day singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in November, in Fulton Recital Hall, on the University of Chicago campus.

Cathryn Bearov called the class to order at 10:05 a.m. and led 479. Jim Swanson offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Ginny Landgraf 344; Jim Helke 13 (MH); Rachel Adelstein 60 (MH); Jim Swanson 328; Susan Geil 52t; Steve Warner 171; Nick Pasqual 73t; Don Keeton 480.

A business meeting was held to elect or appoint the following officers: Chairperson—Daniel Braithwaite; Secretary—Lisa Cohen; Arranging Committee—Ginny Landgraf and James Page; Chaplain—Jim Swanson.

Leaders: Daniel Braithwaite 311; Darrell Swarens 47b; Pleasance Crawford 486; Michael Mosley 478; Martha Beverly 546; Ted Mercer 62 (MH); Willis McCumber 396; Anne Heider 273; Carol Munro Mosley 392.


Lisa Cohen brought the class back to order leading 84. Leaders: Jeff Breting 47t; Chuck Crawford 114; Herb Schroeder 151 (MH); James Page “North Montpelier”; Peggy Mistak 45 (MH); Bill Beverly 547; Bob Sullivan 503; Chuck McCallum 86; Melanie Hauff 68 (MH); Johanna Fabke 472; Jo Dell Albi 532; Peter Bradley 228; Lisa Cohen 148 (MH).


Randy Neufeld brought the class together leading 99. Leaders: Mark Dawson 236; Megan Dunning 373; Ted Johnson 81 (MH); Randy Neufeld 127 (MH); Sarah Burghardt 178; Michael Appert 49b; Karen Swenson 89 (MH); Cathryn Bearov 538. Jim Swanson led the class in prayer and we broke for the noon meal.


Daniel Braithwaite brought the afternoon session to order by leading 156. Leaders: Jim Swanson 144 (MH); Kelly Brest van Kempen 335; Pleasance Crawford 381; Willis McCumber 512; Darrell Swarens 542; Karen Swenson 250; Johanna Fabke 150; Chuck McCallum 155; Bill Beverly 19 (MH); Peter Bradley 163b; Chuck Crawford 101t; Steve Warner 475; Martha Beverly 89; James Page 170 (MH); Don Keeton 59; Jo Dell Albi 77 (MH); Lisa Cohen 169 (MH); Michael Mosley 430.


Ginny Landgraf brought the class to order by leading 82t. Leaders: Michael Appert 268; Judy Hauff 159 (MH); Jim Helke 31 (MH); Rachel Adelstein 131 (MH); Susan Geil 177 (MH); Steve Warner 106; Nick Pasqual 195; Ted Mercer 411; Anne Heider 362; Carol Munro Mosley 540; Jeff Breting 448b; Herb Schroeder 332; Peggy Mistak 312b; Megan Dunning 31t; Ginny Landgraf 135 (MH).

The Finance Committee reported that expenses were met. The Resolutions Committee made resolutions that thanked everyone for their involvement and contributions. The Secretary reported that 75 songs were led by 49 leaders from 7 states and Canada.

Announcements were made. Daniel Braithwaite led 347 as the closing song, while those who wished took the parting hand. Jim Swanson offered a closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Daniel Braithwaite; Secretary—Lisa Cohen