Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Community Center, Henderson, Texas

August 8-9, 2009

Saturday, August 8

The East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Community Center in Henderson, Texas, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Robert Vaughn leading 59. Owen Ross offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: David Rousseau 491; Donald Ross 278b; John Morris 63; Gaylon Powell 142; Judy Caudle 567; Cassie Allen 242; Rodney Ivey 464; Aubrey Barfield 220; Eddie Huckaby 47b; Craig Averill 49b; Joan Smith 395b; Bruce Coates 32t; Robert Handel 336b; Baron Powers 239; Eva Padgett 385t; Mike Moseley 30b; John Beard 384; Margaret Rounsavall 222.


The class was called to order with a warm welcome from Pat Brack, Henderson City Councilwoman. Announcements were made.

Leaders: Robert Vaughn 397; Stanley Smith 120; Myrl Jones 183; Dennis George 156; Henry Johnson 445t; Chris Nicholson 558; Beverly Coates 380t; Tammy Powell 192; Tim Jones 543; Jo Pendleton and Tom Edmonds 72; Dale Redman, Jr. 514; Victoria Aplin 421; Jonathan Pendleton 388; Tommie Spurlock 577; Bill Aplin 106; Reba Windom 505; Evelyn Lamb 216; Diane Ross 434; Lindsey Wiggins 189; Crystal Meadows 383; Janie

Short 155; Owen Ross 195; Linda Booth 196; Kevin Powell 138t; Sonny Erwin 393t; Zach Rogan 39; Leon Ballinger 424; Olivia Powell 140; Greg Bowles 29b; Gary Rogan 276; Chloe Webb 81. Prayer was offered by Mike Hinton.


The afternoon session was called to order by Henry Johnson leading 127.

Leaders: Jerry Ryan 274t; Tim McClain 146; Ester Huckaby 358; Jeb Owen 210; Amanda Bowles 95b; Tom Owen 275b; Michele Rogan 68t; Liz Owen 203; Scott Curran 133; Vivian Rogan 463; Ray Quigley 112; Riley Owen 348t; Catherine Rogan 171; Ryan Ross 497; Phyllis Costner 84; Josh Rogan 186; Sarah Huckaby 522; John Beard 218; Mike Hinton and Myrl Jones 414; Robert Gholson 559; Mike Moseley 411; Baron Powers 85.


The class was called to order by Robert Vaughn leading 466. Leaders: Margaret Rounsavall 137; Owen Ross 240; Chloe Webb 60; Donald Ross 211; Gaylon Powell 91; Margaret Wright, Tom Owen, and Catherine Hamilton 148; Judy Caudle 398t; Cassie Allen 491; Rodney Ivey 392; David Rousseau 447t; Aubrey Barfield 214; Eddie Huckaby 67; Craig Averill 319; John Morris 268t; Joan Smith 38b; Bruce Coates 336t; Jeb Owen and Jin-ha Kim 45t; Robert Handel 38t.

Bruce Coates dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, August 9

The Sunday session of the East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Sam Craig leading 49t. The morning prayer was offered by Gaylon Powell.

Leaders: Sam Craig 75; Stanley Smith 450; Rick Foreman 126; Cheryl Foreman 268b; Mike Hinton 544; Eva Padgett 77t; Dennis George 98; Henry Johnson 443; Tim Jones 461; Sonny Huckaby 183; Josh Rogan 200; Leon Ballinger 280; Victoria Aplin 270; Tommie Spurlock 217; Bill Aplin 567; Reba Windom 196; Linda Booth 507b; Robert Handel 511t; Craig Averill 293b; Eddie Huckaby 463.


The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 225t. Leaders: Aubrey Barfield 365; Janie Short 282; Jo Pendleton 61; Crystal Meadows 416t;

Jonathan Pendleton 397; Dale Redman, Jr. 274t; Cassie Allen 355; Rodney Ivey 86; Judy Caudle 273; Donald Ross 95t; Gary Rogan 300; Greg Bowles 106; Tammy Powell 189; Diane Ross 168; Sonny Erwin 113; Olivia Powell 235; Lindsey Wiggins 182; Ryan Ross 132.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Donald Ross. Stanley Smith read the names of the sick and shut-ins. Elder Sonny Huckaby led 513 in their honor.

Donald Ross then read the names of the deceased as follows:, John Etheridge—Florida; Frank Hattaway, Denson Hinton, Paul King—Alabama; John Thomas—Massachusetts; Dutch Owen, Adele Reed, Ophelia Matthews, Dick Steil, Dallas Smith, Monnie Ross—Texas; Dr. William J. Reynolds—Tennessee; Elder Gerald Hand—New Mexico; Catherine Caldwell—Georgia. Stanley Smith led 367 in their memory. Elder Sonny Huckaby closed the memorial lesson with prayer. Bruce Coates offered prayer for lunch.


The afternoon session was called to order by Sam Craig leading 553. Leaders: Myrl Jones 142; Zach Rogan 85; Kevin Powell 536; Evelyn Lamb 58; Beverly Coates 489; Chris Nicholson 78; Catherine Rogan 299; Jeb Owen 515; Amanda Bowles 99; Sonny Huckaby 558; Scott Curran 532; Vivian Rogan 508; Tom Owen 47t; Ray Quigley 82; Liz Owen 478; Gaylon Powell 563; Phyllis Costner 222; Riley Owen and Jackson Owen 401; Sarah Huckaby 442; Michele Rogan 215; Bruce Coates 264b; Joan

Smith 127; Robert Vaughn, Joel Livsey and Christian Livsey 47b; Cheryl Foreman 224; Mike Hinton and Rodney Ivey 418; Rick Foreman 28b; Reba Windom 559; John Morris 345t; David Rousseau 159.

Sam Craig led 45t as the closing song. Robert Vaughn offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts