Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cotaco Convention

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Eva, Morgan County, Alabama

Saturday, July 25, 2009

The 121st session of the Cotaco Convention was held at Gum Pond Church on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in July. The class was called to order by J.L. Hopper leading 63 and 73b. The opening prayer was offered by Velton Chafin.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 33b, 33t; Dan Hopper 43, 49b; Nancy Thompson 326, 405; Craig Holmes 34b, 323b; Marlin Beasley 225t, 512; Carol Newman 490, 358; Margie Lee 111t, 72b; Butch White 178, 503; Nell Woodard Morris 428.


The class was brought back to order by J.L. Hopper leading 187. The class was organized and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Butch White: Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Steve Cobbs 285t, 460; Marilyn Burchett 335, 176b; Velton Chafin 76t, 68b; Lomax Ballinger 101t, 168; Loyd Ivey 49t, 111b; Geraldine Sharpton 276, 120; Norma Green 123t, 334; Robert Walker 99, 143; Delone Cobbs 52t, 480. Elder J.L. Hopper offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Butch White leading 39b. Leaders: Travis Keeton 172, 290; Dennis George 250; Rodney Ivey 101b, 267; Larry Ballinger 398, 338; Sandie Scott 97, 128; Bridgett Hill 489, 129; Nell Morris 108b; Velton Chafin 487; Dennis George 148; Loyd Ivey 201; Dennis George 96 (for Billy Williams); Judy Caudle 389 (for Lonnie Rogers); J.L. Hopper 69b (for Sandie Scott); Dan Hopper 450; Delone Cobbs 388.

J.L. Hopper led 486 as the closing song. He then offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Butch White: Secretary—Judy Caudle