Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mountain View Shape Note Gathering

Ozark Folk Center, Mt. View, Arkansas

July 9-11, 2009

The 6th Annual Shape Note Gathering began on Thursday evening with leaders from the Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision, the Sacred Harp, Cooper Revision (CB), Alabama Christian Harmony (CHa), North Carolina Christian Harmony (CH), Black Mississippi Shape Note (BM), The Good Old Songs (GOS), and Missouri Harmony (MH).

Thursday, July 9

Gaylon Powell called the class together leading 559(CB). Hugh McGraw offered the opening prayer. Charley Sandage appointed Gaylon Powell to moderate the Shape Note Gathering. Tammy Powell was appointed as Secretary.

Leaders: Cassie Allen 123 (CHa); Dan Brittain 113 (MH); Lela Crowder 277; Emily Creel 59 (CHa); Charlie Sandage 463 (GOS); Holly Gale “To Canaan’s Land I’m On My Way” (BM); David Johnson “Just Over in the Glory Land” (BM); Tammy Powell 64 (CHa); Sonny Erwin 336t (CB); Eddie Huckaby 155; Gaylon Powell 208b (CH); Cassie Allen 93 (CHa); Dan Brittain 16 (MH); Lela Crowder 203 (CB); Charlie Sandage 155 (GOS); Holly Gale 258 (CH); David Johnson 239 (CB); Emily Creel 83 (CHa); Tammy Powell 19 (CHa); Sonny Erwin 49t; Eddie Huckaby 47b; Gaylon Powell 53 (CB); Cassie Allen 364 (CHa); Dan Brittain 22 (MH); Lela Crowder 37b; Emily Creel 171b (CHa); Charlie Sandage 555 (GOS); Holly Gale 232 (GOS); David Johnson 105 (CHa); Tammy Powell 138t (CB); Sonny Erwin 507b (CB); Eddie Huckaby “Victory in Jesus” (BM). Gaylon Powell led 159b (CH) for the closing song. David Johnson offered the closing prayer.

Friday, July 10

Morning—Featured Leaders: Dan Brittain, Laura Boosinger, and Charlie Sandage.

Dan Brittain talked about the history of the Missouri Harmony and led 22(MH), 23(MH), 26(MH), 48(MH), 27(MH), 34(MH), and 160(MH).

Laura Boosinger talked about the traditions of the North Carolina Christian Harmony and led 58b (CH), 88 (CH), 106 (CH), 208b (CH), and 217(CH).

Charley Sandage talked about the traditions of the Good Old Songs (aka Cayce book) and led 156 (GOS), 388 (GOS), 352 (GOS). Eddy Huckaby led 339 (GOS).


Afternoon—Featured Leaders: Hugh McGraw, Cassie Allen, and Gaylon Powell.

Hugh McGraw talked about the traditions of the Sacred Harp, 1991 edition, and led the following: 31b, 412, and 155.

Cassie Allen went over the traditions and the 7 shapes used in Alabama Christian Harmony. She led 43 (CHa), 186 (CHa), 109 (CHa), 255 (CHa), 189 (CHa), 117 (CHa), and 258 (CHa). The following leaders were called: Tammy Powell 322 (CHa); Emily Creel 354t (CHa); Eddie Huckaby 106 (CHa); Cassie Allen 54 (CHa).


Gaylon Powell led a few songs from the Black Mississippi Shape Note “To Canaan’s Land I’m On My Way” (BM); “Just Over in the Glory Land”(BM), “John Knew”(BM). He reviewed the traditions of the Sacred Harp, Cooper Revision and led 276 (CB), 543 (CB), 138t (CB), 95b (CB), 500 (CB), 393t (CB), 519b (CB); 273 (CB), and 133 (CB). Charlie Sandage offered the closing prayer.

Saturday, July 11

Gaylon Powell called the class together leading 563 (CB). Lonnie Holland offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Cassie Allen 235 (CHa); Charley Sandage 612 (GOS); Laura Boosinger 214 (CH); Tammy Powell 128t (CH); Charlene Wallace 63; Emily Creel 180 (CHa); Lonnie Holland 569b; Tammy Heinsohn 155; Andrew Albers 177 (MH); Lela Crowder 58b (CH); Holly Gale 277 (GOS); Anita 87; Sonny Erwin 505 (CB); Ann Grigsby 47b.


Gaylon Powell called the class back to order by leading 171 (CB). Leaders: Eddie Huckaby 117 (CH), Cassie Allen 121t (CHa), Charley Sandage 282 (GOS); Laura Boosinger 159 (CH); Tammy Powell 24 (CHa); Emily Creel 326 (CHa); Lonnie Holland 393t (CB); Tammy Heinsohn “Just Over in the Glory Land” (BM); Andrew Albers “Victory in Jesus” (BM); Lela Crowder 98 (CB); Holly Gale 85; Anita 45t; Sonny Erwin 336t (CB); Ann Grigsby 49t; Eddie Huckaby 49b. Andy Grigsby offered the noon prayer.


Gaylon Powell called the class back together leading 73t. Leaders: Charlie Sandage 524 (GOS); Laura Boosinger 335 (CH); Tammy Powell 558 (CB); Lonnie Holland 488b (CB); Andrew Albers 85b (CHa); Holly Gale 59; Anita 277; Sonny Erwin 511t (CB); Eddie Huckaby 359 (CH); Charlie Meek 352 (GOS); Gaylon Powell 309t (CH); Charlie Sandage 201 (GOS); Laura Boosinger 215t (CH); Tammy Powell 59b (CHa); Lonnie Holland 106 (CHa).


Andrew Albers called the class back to order leading 336b (CB). Leaders: Holly Gale 26 (GOS); Anita 155; Sonny Erwin 518 (CB); Eddie Huckaby 276 (CB), Charlie Meek 388 (GOS); Gaylon Powell 30 (MH); Charlie Sandage 155 (GOS); Laura Boosinger 208 (CH); Tammy Powell 559 (CB); Lonnie Holland 158 (GOS); Andrew Albers 19 (CHa); Holly Gale 463 (GOS); Anita 73b; Wendy Johnson 541 (GOS); Sonny Erwin 484b (CB); Ann Grigsby 511b (CB); Eddie Huckaby 338t (CHa); Charlie Meek 98 (CB).

Announcements were made. Gaylon Powell, Laura Boosinger, and Charles Sandage lead 417 (GOS) for the closing song. Andrew Albers offered the closing prayer.

Moderator—Gaylon Powell, Secretary—Tammy Powell