Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

McMahan, Texas

March 28-29, 2009

Saturday, March 28

The annual spring session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention, first held in 1900, met at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church in McMahan, Texas. The session was called to order by Mike Hinton leading 336t. Prayer was offered by Elder Sonny Huckaby, pastor of Bethel Church.

Leaders: Mike Hinton 78; Sonny Huckaby 49t; John Baker 268t; Owen Ross 193; Bill Bailey 277; Lisa Geist 224; Sonny Erwin 488t; Steve Helwig 98; Cheryl Foreman 203; Chris Nicholson 507b; Craig Averill 49b; Crystal Meadows 543; Donald Ross 278b; Pete Mathewson 96; Jeb Owen 138t; Johnny Lee 95b; Gary Rogan 567; Grant Howard 149; Marilyn Solomon 497; Billy Huckaby 68t; Priscilla Wiggins 72; Martha Beverly 515.


Sonny Huckaby brought the class back together leading 558. Leaders: Laura Densmore 191; Alexa Gilmore 38t; Lindsey Wiggins 198; Matthew Wojcik 450; Bruce Coates 518; Olivia Powell 235; Larry Ballinger 508; Catherine Rogan 434; Kris Wiggins 192; Anne Missavage 488b; Janie Short 217; Tammy Powell 137; Henry Schuman 559.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sonny Huckaby; Vice Chairman—Tom Owen; Secretaries—John Baker and Cassandra Baker.

Leaders: Mike Huckaby 146 (for Edith Owen); Tom Owen 442t; Rich Lee

207; Evelyn Lamb 376; Mary Ditson 159; Ryan Ross 402; Kevin Powell 383; Michele Rogan 47t; Jo Pendleton 31t; Bill Beverly 478. Prayer for the lunch was offered by Johnny Lee.


Sonny Huckaby called the afternoon session together by leading 101t. Leaders: Cassandra Baker 39; Greg Bowles 155; Josh Rogan 395b; Donnie Howard 505; Jessica Garris 142; Syble Adams 367; Gaylon Powell 482; Richard Ivey 215; Scott Curran 133; Vivian Rogan 239; Marilyn Murata 218; Trevor Howard 64; Leon Ballinger 120; Jonathan Pendleton 282; Riley Owen 274t; Lori Rodgers 76b; Betty Marvin 143; Reed Coates 182.

Donn Howard, Amanda Bowles, and Greg Bowles were named by the chairman as the memorial committee.


The class was brought back to order. Leaders: Tom Owen 393t; Diane Ross 183; Corbin Rodgers 47b; David Wright 416t; Abigail Webb 335; John Plunkett and Kelly Sustaire 357; Beverly Coates 464; Steven Dalton 40; David McPherson 300; Amanda Bowles 42; Ashton Rodgers 171; Peter Nichols 572; Eleanor Haase 575; Micah Rodgers 57; Ryan Young 288; Katie Mahoney 524; Liz Owen 212; Linda Booker 55; Brennen Leigh 36b; Sarah Huckaby 380t; John Baker 168.

The closing prayer was offered by Curtis Owen, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, March 29

The Sunday session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Sonny Huckaby leading 511t. The opening prayer was offered by Mike Hinton.

Leaders: Sonny Huckaby 330t; Tom Owen 68b; John Baker 110; Cassandra Baker 323b; Sonny Erwin 145b; Cheryl Foreman 53; George Jones 35; Donald Ross 373; Catherine Rogan 99; Robert Vaughn 521; Crystal Meadows 522; Curtis Owen 343 (for his brother, Leland); Syble Adams 540; Mike Hinton 544; Richard Ivey 132; Olivia Powell 486; Johnny Lee 527.


Leaders: Scott Curran 82; Bill Bailey 63; Brennen Leigh 406; Grant Howard 31t; Larry Ballinger 151; Gary Rogan 54t; Lindsey Wiggins 131t; Marilyn Murata 229; Diane Ross 299; Daniel Allcock 422b; Craig Averill 319; Michele Rogan 45t; Chris Nicholson 293b; Evelyn Lamb 140; Mary Ditson 427; Henry Schuman 463; Riley Owen 401.

Donn Howard conducted the memorial lesson. He spoke of the hope we each have of being with our loved ones again. The list of deceased included Adele Reed, Harold Lackey, Monnie Ross, Jr.—Texas; Dr. William Reynolds—Tennessee; Alice Ho—Arizona; Ollis Nall and Frank Hataway—Alabama; Marilyn Darch—California; John Etheridge—Florida; Lou Landrum, Lee Rogers, and Nora Roberts—Georgia; Eleanor Haase Phillips—Illinois; Pauline Creel Childers—Michigan; Elder Gerald Hand—New Mexico; Jean Marcotte and Ruby Little—Oregon. Donn Howard led 6 (GOS).

Amanda Bowles read the list of the sick and shut-ins as follows: Ophelia Matthews, Dorothy Price, Myra Palmer, Leland Owen, Ruth Redmon, Marion Grant, Dick Steil, Sallie Foreman, Morris Nowlan, Bo Caldwell, Dan Brittain, Fumie Morata, Shisue Sugimato, Richard DeLong, Roland Hutchinson, Nancy Katzen, and Brooksie Stanton. She led 264b in their honor. Greg Bowles closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Reed Coates 112; Linda Booker 32t; Ryan Ross 410; Gaylon Powell 91; Janie Short 470. Gaylon Powell offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was opened by Sonny Huckaby leading 400. Leaders: Billy Huckaby 268t; Katie Mahoney 51; Jessie Simon 500; Eleanor Haase 478; Kevin Powell 553b; Jessica Garris 210; Vivian Rogan 148; David McPherson 451; Greg Bowles 29b; David Wright 28b; Beverly Coates 465; Bill Beverly 422t; Ryan Young 390; Tammy Powell 216; Priscilla Wiggins 70t; Laura Densmore and Gaylon Powell 386; Amanda Bowles 67; Liz Owen 444t; Steve Helwig 102; Kris Wiggins 333; Lisa Geist 304; Trevor Howard 222; Bruce Coates 484b; Betty Marvin 489; John Plunkett 178; Sarah Huckaby 196; Matthew Wojcik 411; Martha Beverly 163t; Peter Nichols 159; Donnie Howard 559; Jeb Owen 558; Kevin Lee 183.

Sonny Huckaby and Tom Owen led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Jeb Owen, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sonny Huckaby; Vice Chairman—Tom Owen; Secretaries—John Baker and Cassandra Baker