Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing
(Cooper Book/The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision)

New Harmony Community Center, New Harmony, Texas

Saturday, March 7, 2009

The 30th session of the Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Sonny Erwin leading 49t (CB). David Jones offered the opening prayer.

Committee appointments were made as follows: Chaplin Pro-Tem—David Jones; Nominations Committee—Gaylon Powell and Lindsey Wiggins; Memorial Committee—Crystal Meadows and Judy Hughes.

Leaders: Sonny Erwin 282 (CB); Crystal Meadows 553 (CB), 567 (CB); Tammy Powell 559 (CB), 171 (CB); Leon Ballinger 168 (CB), 507b (CB); Sue Utz 335 (CB), 557 (CB); Lindsey Wiggins 176b, 475; Cheryl Foreman 138b (CB), 470 (CB); Priscilla Wiggins 31t, 70; David Jones 312b, 350; Ron Ryan 573 (CB), 383 (CB).


Crystal Meadows called the class back to order by leading 276 (CB). Leaders: Kris Wiggins 505 (CB), 192 (CB); Margaret Rounsaval 450 (CB), 112 (CB); Marcelene Hardy 172 (CB), 189 (CB); Myrl Jones 142 (CB), 491 (CB).

The memorial lesson was conducted. Judy Hughes led 355 (CB) for the following sick and shut-ins: Harrison Creel, Myra Palmer, Ophelia Matthews, Marian Grant, Adelaide Vaughn, Dick Steil, Toby Utz, Kat Krone, and Debbie Wallace.

Crystal Meadows led 285t (CB) for the following deceased: John Etheridge—Florida; Monnie Ross and Dallas Smith—Texas. It was noted that Dallas Coy Smith was born July 30, 1923, in Smith County and died December 23, 2008. Interment was in the New Harmony Cemetery. He had served faithfully as chaplain of the Smith County Memorial Sacred Harp Singing for 19 years. He will be greatly missed. Gaylon Powell closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Thomas Smith 235 (CB); Gaylon Powell 349, 454; Judy Hughes 516 (CB), 463 (CB); A.A. Smith, Jr. 53 (CB), 67 (CB). The noon prayer was offered by David Jones.


Sonny Erwin called the class back together by leading 563 (CB) and 568 (CB). Leaders: Crystal Meadows 37b, 441; Myrl Jones, David Jones, and Sue Utz 406 (CB); David Rousseau 127 (CB), 119 (CB); Cheryl Foreman 497 (CB), 336b (CB); Priscilla Wiggins 159 (CB), 408 (CB); Lawson Smith 108b (CB), 270 (CB); Leon Ballinger 99, 490; Kris Wiggins 528, 299; Lindsey Wiggins 522 (CB), 400 (CB).

A business meeting was held. A motion was made and passed unanimously to start having an ongoing welcoming committee. The Treasurer reported that all expenses were met. The Nomination Committee gave their report as follows: Chairperson—Crystal Meadows; Vice Chairperson—Priscilla Wiggins; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Treasurer—Barbara Smith; Assistant Treasurer—Judy Hughes; Chaplin—David Jones. Announcements were made of upcoming singings.

Leaders: Gaylon Powell 341 (CB), 174 (CB); Ron Ryan 84 (CB), 404 (CB); Margaret Rounsaval 137 (CB), 300 (CB); Marcelene Hardy 100 (CB), 384 (CB); Judy Hughes 45t (CB), 501 (CB); A.A. Smith, Jr. 546 (CB), 571 (CB); Tammy Powell 39 (CB); Tammy Powell and Myrl Jones 183 (CB).

Sonny Erwin, Crystal Meadows and Tammy Powell led 62 for the closing song. David Jones offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sonny Erwin; Vice Chairman—Crystal Meadows; Secretary—Tammy Powell