Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Elmore County Convention (Cooper Book)

First Presbyterian Church, Wetumpka, Alabama

Saturday, November 15, 2008

The 1st annual session of the Elmore County Convention was held at the First Presbyterian Church, Wetumpka, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in November. This session was dedicated to the memory of Frank Hataway.

Bill Hogan led 145t and 36b. Rev. Jonathan Yarboro, pastor, gave a welcome and offered the opening prayer. Bill Hogan gave a welcome and led 558b.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairman—Don Clark; Secretary—Nancy Hogan.

Leaders: Don Clark 31t, 35; Nancy Hogan 95b, 274t; Aubrey Barfield 497, 464; Tim Jones 553, 273; Ernestine Pipkin 203, 110; James S. Wagner 111b, 207; Russ Scholz 47t, 283t; Paul King 395b.


Bill Hogan brought the class back together leading 450. Leaders: Danny Creel 38t; Karen Clark 430; Bill Aplin 138t; Janet King 148; Judy Chambless 336b; Ted Price 196; Steve Grauberger 127; Victoria Aplin 421; Robert Walker 336t; Voncile Nall 73t; Emily Creel 140; Velton Chafin 86.


Don Clark called the class back to order leading 335. Leaders: Wayne Jones 49b; Brenda Merritt 225t; Robert Chambless 145b; Mike Spencer 380b; Wanda Capps 222; John Merritt 45t; 47b; Frank Strickland 515; Adrian Nall and Wesley Herring 40; Jane Spencer 380t; Myrtle Richburg 229; Barbara Jones 72. The class sang 369 and Aubrey Barfield offered the blessing for lunch.


Bill Hogan brought the class to order leading 99. Leaders: Henry Guthery 559; Ken Sundberg 54t; James M. Wagner and Ermon Richmond 406, 427; Harrison Creel 355; Chip Westbrook 501; Tim Cook 393t; John Plunkett 39; Linda Westbrook 465; Alice Sundberg 505; Marion Patrick 358; Shannon Primm 373; Ann Webb 282; Ben Keeble 440b; Jonathan Blakeley 74t; Loretta Jones 285t; Stanley Smith 503; Margaret Spurlock 112; Robert DuPree 388; Mako Cook 563; Lloyd Jones and Loretta Jones 463; Paul King 96; Danny Creel and Emily Creel 133; Karen Clark 386; Janet King 82; Steve Grauberger 426t; Robert Walker 171; Voncile Nall and Adrian Nall 48t; Mike Spencer and Jane Spencer 243b; John Merritt 392; Stanley Smith 37.

After announcements were made, the class sang 527 and shared the hand of fellowship. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by John Merritt.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairman—Don Clark; Secretary—Nancy Hogan