Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B. F. White Sacred Harp
Singing Convention (J. L. White 1911 Revision)

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Sunday, September 21, 2008

The singing was opened by John Plunkett leading 30t. John Hollingsworth offered the morning prayer.

Officers for the singing had been previously elected to serve as follows: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson.

Leaders: John Plunkett 50t; Sandra Wilkinson 59, 330t; Bob Goodman 145b, 354b; Shannon Primm 519, 151; Sharon Hamrick 276; Malinda Snow 511, 108b; Tony Hammock 274t, 275b (lesson dedicated to the memory of Lee Rogers); Kathy Smith 38b, 475; Vaudie Sherer 328, 112; Bill Hollingsworth 487t, 546t; Violet Thomason 189, 192; Misty Mullis 334, 358.


Russ Hanson led 101t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Tom Hanson 491b, 512; Valerie Francis 545t, 323b; Helen Bryson 176t, 38t; Wesley Haley 45t, 47b; John Hollingsworth 544t, 480t; Lela Crowder 277, 101b; Robert Kelly 484b, 468; Judy Mincey 54t, 55t; David Grant 177, 273. The noon prayer was offered at the lunch table by Henry Johnson.


John Plunkett called the class to order leading 150 and 480b. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 155, 522; Laura Akerman 478t, 471; Henry Johnson 58, 70b; Mary Brownlee 182, 183; B.M. Smith 222, 313.

Carol Hanson, Tom Hanson, Russ Hanson, and Sandra Wilkinson sang 527 together for the deceased and the sick and shut-ins. The class joined them in singing 447t. The deceased included were Marjorie Faith, Marie Cook, Loy Garrison, Elizabeth Tolbert, Lee Rogers, Myrtle Smith, and Felton Denney—Georgia; Amanda Denson Brady, Milton Oliver, B.J. Harris, Dale Harris, and Corene K. Laminack—Alabama. The sick and shut-ins named were Robert Cook, Nora Roberts, Frank Green, and Bud Oliver.

Leaders: Carol Hanson 26 (in back of book); Betty Harber 311, 384; Carol Brown 299, 91t; Susan Cole 513, 517; Russ Hanson 389t, 526, 317b; Raymond Hamrick 490b; Henry Slack 239, 540; Rebecca Higgins 491t, 408.

After announcements, John Plunkett led 323t as the closing song, and the class was dismissed with prayer offered by Henry Johnson.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Sandra Wilkinson