Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Austin, Texas

August 30-31, 2008

Saturday, August 30

The fall session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Waldorf School near Austin, Texas. The session was called to order by Mike Hinton leading 336t. Prayer was offered by Wayne Walther.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairman—Sonny Huckaby; Secretary—John Baker.

Leaders: Mike Hinton 78; Sonny Huckaby 35; John Baker 268t; Robert Vaughn 50t; Alexa Gilmore 558; Sonny Erwin 488t; Cheryl Foreman 470; John Kerr 505; Olivia Powell 573; Doug Foster 32t; David Wright 30t; Ayne Ray 142; Beverly Coates 380t; Bill Bailey 106; Leon Ballinger 168; Katie Mahoney 381t; Scott Curran 217; Linda Booker 55; Janie Short 148; Bruce Coates 507b; Betty Marvin 141.


The class was brought back to order by Mike Hinton leading 447t. Leaders: Tom Owen 47b; Crystal Meadows 567; Daniel Allcock 296; Ryan Ross 196; Evelyn Lamb 36b; Eddie Huckaby 277; Anne Moseley 192; Josh Rogan 319; Steve Helwig 298; Donn Howard 559; Liz Owen 98; Jessica Garris 159; Riley Owen 274t; Don Ross 211; Vivian Rogan 508; Chris Nicholson 513t; Dick Steil 463; Curtis Owen 515; Brennen Leigh 146; Jeb Owen 155; Gary Rogan 99; Trevor Howard 182; Mickie Sheppard 220; Amanda Bowles 42; Morris Nelms 36t; Gaylon Powell 53; Sarah Huckaby 224; Rich Lee 198; Greg Bowles 29b. The memorial committee was named and class was dismissed for lunch with prayer by Tom Owen.


Sonny Huckaby called the afternoon session together by leading 440b. Leaders: Billy Huckaby 30b; Diane Ross 183; Robert Vaughn 387; Mike Moseley 507t; John Kerr 122; Cheryl Foreman 140; Doug Foster 49b; Kevin Powell 239; Sonny Erwin 511t; Janie Short 276; Lindsey Wiggins 186; David Wright 391; Ryan Ross 132; Kris Wiggins 299; Evelyn Lamb 110; Betty Marvin 287; Josh Rogan 203; Eddie Huckaby 398b; Donn Howard 484; Chris Nicholson 571; Steve Helwig 543; Mickie Sheppard 348t.


Tom Owen brought the class together by leading 336b. Leaders: Morris Nelms 38b; Gaylon Powell and students of the host school 384; Trevor Howard 388; Alexa Gilmore 138b; Tammy Powell 138t; Ayne Ray 270; David Moseley 442t; Olivia Powell 189; Bill Bailey 63; Katie Mahoney 425; Linda Booker 410; Sonny Huckaby 450; John Baker 449.

Mike Hinton led 95b as the closing song, and prayer was offered by Scott Curran.

Sunday, August 31

The Sunday session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Mike Hinton at 9:30 a.m. leading 28b. Prayer was offered by Diane Ross.

Leaders: Mike Hinton 544; Sonny Huckaby 49t; Cassandra Baker 40; Amanda Bowles 68t; Bill Bailey 61; Donald Ross 338; David Wright 200; Jessica Garris 416t; Evelyn Lamb 58; Steve Helwig 414; Vivian Rogan 96; Ryan Ross 212; Janie Short and Becca Short 282; Donn Howard 264b; Ayne Ray 559; Katie Mahoney and Rich Lee 406; Jeb Owen 68b (for Adele Reed); Trevor Howard 518; Lindsey Wiggins 383.


Leaders: John Baker 110; Dick Steil 393t; Diane Ross 434; Leon Ballinger 196; Mickie Sheppard 56; Scott Curran 424; Sarah Huckaby 210; Kris Wiggins 217; Gaylon Powell 494; Riley Owen 401; Eddie Huckaby 82; Alexa Gilmore 42; Curtis Owen 137; Rich Lee 365; Billy Huckaby 268t; Cheryl Foreman 272.

Elder Sonny Huckaby began the memorial lesson by quoting verse 2 of song number 42, and reminding the class that the deceased are at a “perfect singing.”

Bill Bailey led 73t for the following sick and shut-ins: Daphene Causey, Cathy Wathington, John Etheridge, Stephen O’Leary, Dave Euneekis, Adele Reed, Ophelia Matthews, Myra Palmer, Mike O’Hern, and Leland Owen. Special mention is made of Aaron Shirazi of Texas who is unable to attend the singing due to serving in the National Guard.

Jessica Garris then led 380t for the deceased as follows: Pete Baker, Buddy Baker, Charley Vaughn, Brenda Bethard—Texas; Milton Oliver, Amanda Denson Brady—Alabama; Pauline Childers—Michigan; Myrtle Smith, Felton Denny—Georgia. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Curtis Owen.

Leaders: Brennen Leigh 45t; Greg Bowles 395b; Reed Coates 299; Sonny Erwin 199; Liz Owen 288. Leon Ballinger offered prayer before the noon meal.


Mike Hinton called the afternoon session to order by leading 505. Leaders: Bruce Coates 133; Betty Marvin 118; Crystal Meadows 240; Priscilla Wiggins 31t; Gary Rogan 54t; Olivia Powell 140; Beverly Coates 464; Tammy Powell 216; Chris Nicholson 293b; Tom Owen 64; Kevin Powell 77t; Morris Nelms 304; Steve Helwig 112.

Announcements were made. Leaders: David Wright 76b; Eddie Huckaby 323b; Bill Bailey 324; Donald Ross 123b; Lindsey Wiggins and Liza McCown 558; Rich Lee 372; Cheryl Foreman 497; Sonny Erwin 572; Kris Wiggins 343; Janie Short and Becca Short 72; Amanda Bowles 144; Leon Ballinger 120; Katie Mahoney 67; Diane Ross 394; Scott Curran 203; Betty Marvin 145b; Reed Coates 331b.

Mike Hinton, Sonny Huckaby, and John Baker led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Gary Rogan, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairman—Sonny Huckaby; Secretary—John Baker