Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Community Center, Henderson, Texas

August 9-10, 2008

Saturday, August 9

The East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Community Center in Henderson, Texas, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Sam Craig leading 108t. The morning prayer was offered by Robert Vaughn.

Leaders: Sam Craig 100; Bobby Watkins 138t; Aubrey Barfield 464; Leon Ballinger 463; Robert Vaughn 521; Stanley Smith 268t; Judy Caudle 567; Henry Johnson 439; Ann Jett 503; Jerry Ryan 421; Sarah Huckaby 300; Frank Hataway 395b; Esther Huckaby 270; Ernestine Pipkin 276; Rodney Ivey 133; Gaylon Powell 552; Billy Huckaby 68t; Myrl Jones 142; Tammy Powell 189; Barbara Jones 336t; Riley Owen 401; Mickie Sheppard 38t; Janie Short 434; Tim McClain 47t; Bob McLemore 522; Wayne Jones 553.


The class was called back to order by Buzz Fullen, mayor of Henderson, who gave welcoming remarks. Announcements were made.

Leaders: Owen Ross 214; Liz Owen 277; Tim Jones 120; Joshua McClain 146; John Beard 282; Tommie Spurlock 112; Troxal Ballou 508; Ben Brown 571; Charles Jackson 38b; Judy Hughes 516; Alice Johnson 128; Gary Rogan 384; Josh Rogan 383; Jeb Owen 210; Baron Powers 239; Danny Creel 404; Wanda Gregg 573; Crystal Meadows 182; Cassie Allen 450; Elsie Moon 414; Emily Creel 140; Joan Smith 47b; Cindy Tanner 486. Sonny Huckaby offered the prayer for lunch.


The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 57. Leaders: Wanda Capps 505; Margaret Wright 82; Cheryl Foreman 53; David Rousseau 127; Lindsey Wiggins 172; Ryan Ross 402; M.H. Creel 355; Trevor Howard 155; Beverly Coates 416t; Tom Owen 96; Morris Nelms 36t; Linda Booth 507t; Vivian Rogan 559; Dale Redmon 540; Alexa Gilmore 558; Nancy Powell 397; Sonny Huckaby 400; Donald Ross 419.


The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 145t. Leaders: Catherine Rogan 497; Mike Hinton and Lorraine Miles McFarland 358; Gaylon Powell 235; Scott Curran 192; Bill Bailey 207; Bruce Coates 518; Sonny Erwin 145b; Stanley Smith 392; Grant Howard 411; Henry Guthery 86; Katie Mahoney 170; Donn Howard 40; Ines Luttgen 514; Diane Ross 299; Evelyn Lamb 217; John Morris 56; Myrl Jones 491.

Sam Craig led 283t as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Bruce Coates.

Sunday, August 10

The Sunday session was opened by Sam Craig leading 491. The morning prayer was offered by Tom Owen.

Leaders: Sam Craig 225t; Eddie Huckaby 47b; Ernestine Pipkin 203; Rodney Ivey 478; Barbara Jones 72; Wayne Jones 513t; Chris Nicholson 264t; Tommie Spurlock 574; Danny Creel 222; Tim Jones 42; Wanda Gregg 98; Cassie Allen 292b; Elsie Moon 424; Emily Creel 168; Cindy Tanner 39; Leon Ballinger 280; Wanda Capps 216; Judy Caudle 380t; Bruce Coates 264b; M.H. Creel 54t; Henry Guthery 431; Bobby Watkins and April Watkins 470; Crystal Meadows 245; Aubrey Barfield 200.


The class called to order by Stanley Smith leading 541. Leaders: Diane Ross 148; Trevor Howard 293b; Henry Johnson 435; Donn Howard 484; Ann Jett 136; Beverly Coates 356; Frank Hataway 32t; Cheryl Foreman 448; Sarah Huckaby 563; Grant Howard 63; Gaylon Powell 91; Billy Huckaby 543; Donald Ross 395t; Tammy Powell 137; Janie Short 393t; Liz Owen 213; Lindsey Wiggins 189; Tom Owen 27; Morris Nelms 367.

John Morris conducted the memorial lesson by leading 444t. Robert Vaughn read the names of the sick and shut-ins and two missing persons. He led 410 in their honor.

Stanley Smith then read the names of the deceased as follows: Charlie Vaughn, Olive Acker, John McCoy, Pete Baker, Buddy Baker, Christene Burton—Texas; Amanda Denson-Brady, Richard K. Mauldin, Sr., LaRue Allen, Edith Tate, Milton Oliver—Alabama. He led 39 in their memory. The memorial lesson closed with prayer offered by Mike Hinton.

Leaders: Alexa Gilmore 35; Jeb Owen 60; Sonny Erwin 199; Sonny Huckaby 558. Gaylon Powell offered prayer before the noon meal.


The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 553. Leaders: Mike Hinton and Sam Flory 544; Dale Redmon 514; Scott Curran 532; Nancy Powell 515; Catherine Rogan 218; Evelyn Lamb 220; Linda Booth 358; Ryan Ross 198; David Rousseau 119; Vivian Rogan 387; Joan Smith 127; Gary Rogan 129; Robert Vaughn 468; Eddie Huckaby 323b; Chris Nicholson 559; Rodney Ivey 465; John Morris 348t; Riley Owen 274t; Judy Caudle 414 (in memory of LaRue Allen); Tommie Spurlock 146; Cassie Allen 359; Wanda Gregg 572; Sonny Erwin 451; Ernestine Pipkin 110; Cindy Tanner 76b; Henry Johnson 77b; Bruce Coates 201; Crystal Meadows 30b; Diane Ross 159.

Sam Craig led 45t as the closing song. Morris Nelms offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts