Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

Eva, Morgan County, Alabama

Sunday, May 25, 2008

The annual Decoration Day Sacred Harp singing was held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Jonathon Thompson leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper.

Leaders: Jonathon Thompson 47t; Brandon Thompson 39b, 335; Judy Caudle 177, 73b; Travis Keeton 48t, 155; Delone Cobbs 73t, 49b; Robert Walker 84, 480; Ed Thacker 474, 187; Clarence McCool 172, 112; Nancy Thompson 40; Danny Creel 405, 475; John Etheridge 500; Lisa Geist 394, 527; Joan Aldridge 439, 276; Ken Tate 278t, 147b.


Jonathon Thompson called the class back to order leading 30b. Leaders: Henry Guthery 331, 348b; Nate Green 176b, 566; Marlin Beasley 426t, 336; Linda Thomas 63; Larry Ballinger 146, 157; Gerald Holmes 28t, 28b, 49t; Geraldine Sharpton and Danica Thornton 401, 569b; Henry Johnson 138b, 409; Rodney Murrell 358; Bud Oliver 332, 42; Harrison Creel 111b, 498; Tony Ivey 410t, 139. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by David Ivey.


The afternoon session was called to order by Jonathon Thompson leading 285t.

A memorial lesson was conducted by Judy Caudle leading 459. The following deceased were remembered: Onzell Caudle, Ruth Williams, Cois Woodard, Edith Tate, Milton Oliver, LaRue Allen, Eldora Moody, Bill Green, and Bera Bradford. The following sick and shut-ins were honored: James H. Moore, Eugene Forbes, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Ben Bradford, and Sandi Bradford.

Leaders: Bridgett Hill 77t, 110; Sharon DuPriest 186, 212; Scott Ivey 385b, 421; Elene Stovall 534, 422; David Ivey 103; J.C. Rutledge 490; Susan Holmes 441, 340; J.L. Hopper 91, 304; Dan Hopper 240, 140; Daphene Causey 192; J.L. Hopper 623 (GOS).

Jonathon Thompson led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder Daniel Hopper, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Brandon Thompson; Secretary—Judy Caudle