Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Furman University Sacred Harp
and Christian Harmony Singing

Heering Music Pavilion, Greenville, South Carolina

Saturday, May 10, 2008

The 11th annual singing at Furman University was called to order by Frances Carnell leading 21 (CH). John Plunkett offered the opening prayer.

In the opening session, all songs were from Christian Harmony. Leaders: Frances Carnell 128t; Dan Huger 103b; Lee Rogers 162t; John Plunkett 187b; John Hollingsworth 194b; Jane Spencer 332; Judy Mincey 50; Mike Spencer 41t; Bill Hogan 214; Nathan Rees 215b; Billy Hollingsworth 67b; Eddie Marsh 223t; Mary Baumeister 180t; Leon Carnell 381b; Nancy Hogan 294.

In a business session, the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dan Huger; Secretary—Lee Rogers; Chaplin—John Plunkett; Finance Committee—Jonathan Smith.


In this session, all songs were from the Sacred Harp. Frances Carnell brought the class to order leading 191 and 492. Leaders: Jonathan Smith 276; Danny Arms 176b; Dianne Eskenasy 155; Kenneth George 503; Gib Rogers 63; Tom Taylor 85; Frances Carnell 228; Dan Huger 99; Lee Rogers 188; John Plunkett 50t; John Hollingsworth 460; Jane Spencer 151; Judy Mincey 180; Mike Spencer 499; Bill Hogan 198; Nathan Rees 516; Billy Hollingsworth 56b; Eddie Marsh 538; Mary Baumeister 43.


Dan Huger opened the afternoon session leading “Millbrook” (Eclectic Harmony I). Leaders: Leon Carnell 268 (SH); Nancy Hogan 274t (SH); Danny Arms 392 (SH); Jonathan Smith 210 (CH); Diane Eskenasy 51 (CH); Kenneth George 359 (CH); Gib Rogers 457 (SH); Chris Wilhem 118b (CH); Frances Carnell 522 (SH); Dan Huger 261t (CH); Lee Rogers 221t (CH); John Plunkett and Liz Porter 381t (CH); John Hollingsworth 72b (CH); Jane Spencer 211 (SH); Judy Mincey 116t (CH); Mike Spencer 361 (CH).


Frances Carnell opened the final session leading 501 (SH). Leaders: Bill Hogan 448t (SH); Robert Kelly 449 (SH), 374 (SH); Nathan Rees 100 (SH); Billy Hollingsworth 236 (SH); Eddie Marsh and Ted Yoder 49 (CH); Mary Baumeister 143t (CH); Leon Carnell 51 (SH); Nancy Hogan 178 (SH); Chris Wilhem 168 (SH); Danny Arms 200 (SH); Jonathan Smith 222 (SH); Dianne Eskenasy 253 (CH); Kenneth George 179 (CH); Gib Rogers 128 (SH).

Frances Carnell led 56t (SH) as the closing hymn. John Plunkett dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dan Huger; Secretary—Lee Rogers