Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Antioch Baptist Church Memorial Singing

South of Tallapoosa, Georgia, on Old Highway 100

Friday night, April 11, 2008

The 16th annual session of the Birthday Singing on the Friday night before the second Sunday in April was held at Shiloh Primitive Baptist Church, south of Tallapoosa, Georgia. The temporary location change was due to a conflict with the Antioch Baptist Church schedule. Cecil Roberts called the class to order leading 135. The opening prayer was offered by Lonnie Rogers.

Leaders: Charlene Wallace 79; Donna Bell 77t, 146; Kristie Harju 278b, 159; Charles Crawford 535, 34b.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Johnny Wright; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Karen Rollins.

Leaders: Paul Lindholm 32t, 33b; Myron House 115, 545; Lonnie Rogers 298, 318; Mildred Patterson 319, 339; Pleasance Crawford 64, 476; Karlene Williams 63, 45t; Stanley Edwards 76b, 208; Earlis McGraw 201, 225t. Cecil Roberts blessed the evening meal.


Charlene Wallace and Stanley Edwards brought the class back to order leading 46. Leaders: Curtis Hamrick 137, 436; Kathe Pilibosian 148, 448t; Peter Golden 335, 52t; Daphene Ray and Charles Towler 358.

A motion was made and passed to change the name of the singing from a Birthday Singing to a Memorial Singing since Mrs. Mildred Johnson and Elder Homer Benefield are deceased.

Leaders: Chris Holley 30b, 475; Roy Fuller 128, 85; Barb Ames 47b, 49b; Joyce Lambert 127, 56t; Jan House 284, 361; Johnny Wright 300, 53; Diane Clayton 143.

Following announcements, Cecil Roberts and Johnny Wright led 62 as the closing song and those who wished took the parting hand. Myron House dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice—Chairman—Johnny Wright; Secretary—Donna Bell