Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp
Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

McMahan, Texas

March 29-30, 2008

Saturday, March 29

The annual spring session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention, first held in 1900, met at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church in McMahan, Texas. The session was called to order by Liz Owen leading 293b. Prayer was offered by Elder Sonny Huckaby, pastor of Bethel Church.

Leaders: Liz Owen 171; Mike Hinton 288; Cassandra Baker 31t; Charles Whitmer 218; Cheryl Foreman 408; Bruce Coates 264b; Martha Beverly 131t; Vivian Rogan 331t; Robert Vaughn 50t; Carol Selleck 54t; Priscilla Wiggins 47b; Donn Howard 505; Jeff Adcock 49t; Kris Wiggins 299; Anitra Kaye 283t; Leon Ballinger 280; Crystal Meadows 193; Steve Helwig 113; Amanda Bowles 210; Evelyn Lamb 522; Chloe Webb 270; Scott Curran 98.


Liz Owen brought the class back together leading 75. Leaders: John Baker 40; Laura Densmore 55; Rich Lee 553; Bobby Watkins 138t; Greg Bowles 155; Marilyn Murata 484; Janie Short 99; Brennen Leigh 168; Gary Rogan 398b; Louis Hughes 225t; Barbara Smith 508; Alexa Gilmore 558; Henry Schuman 38t; Riley Owen 274t; Grant Howard 336t; Ryan Young 395b; Kay Sirco 563; Kathryn Eastburn 449; Linda Booker 573; David McPherson 300; Ines Luttgen 514; Lindsey Wiggins 189; Terre Schill 383.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairman—Sonny Huckaby; Secretaries—John Baker and Cassandra Baker.

Leaders: Sonny Huckaby 450; Catherine Rogan 203; Bill Bailey 106; Jeb Owen 53. Prayer before lunch was offered by Louis Hughes.


Mike Hinton called the afternoon session together by leading 146. He named the Memorial Committee as Sonny Huckaby, Sarah Huckaby and Scott Curran. Leaders: Trevor Howard 58; Dick Steil 82; Aaron Shirazi 47t; Seth Howard 133; Lori Rodgers 139; Jo Pendleton and Jonathan Pendleton 72; Keith Collins 438b; Connie Stanton 276; Ashton Rodgers 571; Chris Nicholson 63; Bill Beverly 478; Beverly Coates 380t; Claire Singleton 68b; Gaylon Powell and Carrie Joynton 543; Michael Heyerman 502; Sarah Huckaby 497; Kevin Lee and Dan Vollemeyer 183; Reed Coates 306; Tammy Powell 217; Tom Owen 465; Curtis Owen 442t.


Leaders: Steve Helwig 68t; Jeff Adcock 501; Tony Godwin 393t; Jonathan Pendleton 348t; Corbin Rogers 427; Laura Densmore 574; Martha Beverly 212; Evelyn Lamb 215; Bobby Watkins 30b; Chloe Webb 282; Janie Short 559; Louis Hughes 76b; Barbara Smith 31b; Carol Selleck 463; Anitra Kaye 511t; Henry Schuman 52t; Kay Sirco 515; David McPherson 128.

Mike Hinton and Sonny Huckaby led 95b as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Curtis Owen, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, March 30

Mike Hinton opened the Sunday morning session leading 59. Prayer was offered by Donn Howard.

Leaders: Mike Hinton 544; Sonny Huckaby 54t; John Baker 268t; David McPherson 451; Sarah Huckaby 196; Jeff Adcock 397; Anitra Kaye 199; Henry Schuman 497; Cheryl Foreman 140; Robert Vaughn 521; Marilyn Murata 229; Leon Ballinger and Judy Thomas 507b; Jessica Garris 171; Bill Beverly 575; Claire Singleton 422b; Billy Huckaby 220; Kay Sirco 449; Michael Heyerman 485; Katie Mahoney 285t.


The class was brought to order by Crystal Meadows leading 36b. Leaders: Connie Stanton 410; Seth Howard 39; Carol Selleck 343; Steve Helwig 240; Martha Beverly 428; Burl Russell 164; Russell Riepe 383; Laura Densmore 201; Louis Hughes 340; Katherine Eastburn 45t; Grant Howard 38b; Catherine Rogan 470; Morris Nelms 68t; Pricilla Wiggins 159; Trevor Howard 168.

Elder Sonny Huckaby conducted the memorial lesson. He discussed the Sacred Harp family, joined by an appreciation for the sound of the singing, the meaning and depth of the poetry, the chord that touches each of us, and the tone that reaches the heart. Sara Huckaby led 384 for the following sick and shut-ins: Myra Palmer, Ophelia Matthews, Leland Owen, Natalie L. Speer, Pauline Childers, Daphene Causey, Fumie Murata, and Shisue Sugimoto.

Scott Curran read the names of the following deceased, and led 30b: W.M. “Pete” Baker, M.J. Godwin, Charlie Vaughn, Theodore Albert Waterman, Kimberly Carpenter, Dwight Davis, and Floyd Screws—Texas; Milton Oliver, Dick Mauldin, Flarce Creel, Amanda Denson-Brady, Edith Tate, and LaRue Allen—Alabama; Christine Chrisman—Tennessee; Loy Garrison and Felton Denney—Georgia; Marianne Kaye and Esther Love—California; Robert LeCompte—New Mexico; Theodore Kang Eastburn—Colorado; Minja Lausevic—Minnesota; Jack Kramer—New York. Jeb Owen closed the service with prayer.

Leaders: Bobby Watkins 444t; Tammy Powell 216; Kris Wiggins 192; Vivian Rogan 32t; Donn Howard 518. Noon time prayer was offered by Jeff Adcock.


Jeb Owen called the afternoon session to order leading 277. Leaders: Brennen Leigh 319; Riley Owen 401; Terre Schill 172; Dick Steil 70t; Linda Booker 511t; Greg Bowles 31t; Lindsey Wiggins 182; Bill Bailey 406; Liz Owen 572; Ryan Young 239; Amanda Bowles 42; Reed Coates and Danielle Cargile 35; Kevin Lee and Chelsey Marcum 331b; Pat Parson 467; Scott Curran 203; Aaron Shirazi 540; Bruce Coates 571; Gary Rogan 567; Gaylon Powell 235; George Jones and Jeb Owen 558; Burl Russell 75; John Baker 395b; Tom Owen 416t; Sarah Huckaby and Billy Huckaby 421; Curtis Owen 198; Katie Mahoney 213; David McPherson 500; Jessica Garris 217; Michael Heyerman 520; Marilyn Murata 200; Edith Owen 515.

Mike Hinton, Sonny Huckaby, and Cassandra Baker led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Gary Rogan.

Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairman—Sonny Huckaby; Secretaries—John Baker and Cassandra Baker