Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Memorial Singing (White Book)

Pine Grove Church, near Collinsville, Alabama

Sunday, March 16, 2008

The annual Lookout Mountain Memorial singing was held at Pine Grove Church on the third Sunday in March. Rodney Ivey called the class to order by leading 30t. The morning prayer was offered by Verlon Stiefel.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—Bud Oliver; Arranging Committee—Michael Thompson; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 138t; Bud Oliver 32t; John Plunkett 178, 504; Judy Caudle 485b, 320; S.T. Reed 495, 494; Elene Stovall 512, 492; Eddie Mash 413, 499t; Robert Chambless 70t, 452; Boyd Scott 319, 358; Sandra Wilkinson 507, 509.


The class was brought back to order by John Plunkett leading 112. Leaders: Michael Thompson 519, 132; Ed Thacker 487t, 426b; Henry Johnson 70b, 544t; Susan Harcrow 546t, 126; Milton Oliver, Paula Oliver, Scot Oliver, Eric Blanks, Alana Blanks, Cheryl Beard, Bryant Beard, and Arleigh Beard 526, 478t, 354b; Tom George 127; Carol Hanson 540, 389t; Mary Ruth Stiefel 175; Robert Walker 548t, 171; Marty Wootten 511; Loretta Smith 395b; Jerry Creason and Anne Sibole 380t, 47t; Jackie Tanner 517; Terry Wootten 60, 264b; Scott Ivey 491b, 111b; Cassie Allen 543t, 292b; Jackson Harcrow 49b. Wayne Reed offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Rodney Ivey leading 77t. Leaders: David Ivey 77b, 522; Shane Wootten 513, 505; Judy Chambless 34b, 26; Cindy Tanner 328, 217; Nate Green and Norma Green 373; Karen Ivey 480b, 490t; Randall Smith and family 76b; Dennis George 58, 22; Bobby Watkins 489t, 545t; Rodney Ivey 486t (for Coy Ivey); Henry Johnson 89; Scott Ivey and Marty Wootten 470; Terry Wootten 153; Judy Caudle 68b; Shane Wootten 496t; Michael Thompson 179; Sandra Wilkinson 57; Ed Thacker 436t.

Rodney Ivey, Bud Oliver, and John Plunkett led 54b as the closing song. Dennis George offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—Bud Oliver; Secretary—Judy Caudle