Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing
(Cooper Book/ the Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision)

Garden Valley Baptist Church, Garden Valley, Texas

Saturday, March 8, 2008

The 29th session of the Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Beverly Coates leading 31b. Gaylon Powell offered the opening prayer.

Committee appointments were made as follows: Chaplin Pro-Tem—Gaylon Powell; Nominations Committee—Leon Ballinger, Gaylon Powell and Cheryl Foreman; Memorial Committee—Bruce Coates and Robert Vaughn; Location Committee—Margaret Rounsaval and A.A. Smith, Jr.

Leaders: Beverly Coates 59; Sonny Erwin 454; Tammy Powell 178; Sue Utz 45t; Leon Ballinger 99; Lawson Smith 108b, 142; Myrl Jones 189; Bruce Coates 201; Judy Hughes 406; Thomas Smith 192; Cheryl Foreman 171; Crystal Meadows 107; Gaylon Powell 86; Robert Vaughn 300; Marcelene Hardy 112; Sonny Erwin 452; Tammy Powell 163b.


Beverly Coates called the class back together leading 119 (CB). Leaders: Sue Utz 475 (CB); Leon Ballinger 507b (CB); A.A. Smith, Jr. 332 (CB); Myrl Jones 491 (CB); Bruce Coates 336t (CB); Judy Hughes 516 (CB); Thomas Smith 235 (CB).

The memorial service was conducted. Robert Vaughn led 503 for the following sick and shut-ins: Myra Palmer, Ophelia Matthews, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Leland Owen, Marian Grant, Adelaide Vaughn, Dewey Smith, Nina Smith, Robert Smith, and Shirley Smith.

Bruce Coates led 285 (CB) for the following deceased: Pete Baker, Charley Vaughn, Floyd Screws, and Russell Glenn Smith.

Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 49t (CB); Crystal Meadows 567 (CB); Marcelene Hardy 172 (CB); Gaylon Powell 346 (CB); David Rousseau 159 (CB). Gaylon Powell offered the noon prayer.


Beverly Coates called the afternoon session to order leading 146 (CB). Leaders: Robert Vaughn 539 (CB); Margaret Rounsaval 222 (CB); Sonny Erwin 96 (CB); Tammy Powell 72 (CB); Leon Ballenger 463 (CB); Myrl Jones 299 (CB); A.A. Smith, Jr. 400 (CB); Bruce Coates 518 (CB); Judy Hughes 501 (CB); Thomas Smith 127 (CB); Cheryl Foreman 203 (CB); Crystal Meadows 505 (CB); Gaylon Powell 273 (CB); David Rousseau 283b (CB); Marcelene Hardy 298 (CB); Robert Vaughn 548 (CB); Margaret Rounsaval 137.

A business meeting was conducted. Gaylon Powell made a motion to make amendments to the by-laws for the singing that include amending article 2 to add the Vice Chairperson officer, and after article 8 to add Vice Chairperson moves to Chairperson the following year. Motion was passed unanimously.

The nominations committee gave their report as follows: Chairman—Sonny Erwin; Vice Chairperson—Crystal Meadows; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Chaplin—Dallas Smith; Treasurer—Sue Utz; Assistant Treasurer—Barbara Smith.

Location Committee reported that the singing will be held at New Harmony Community Center next year. Announcements were made.

Leaders: Sonny Erwin 282; Leon Ballinger 268; A.A. Smith Jr. 270; Bruce Coates 47b; Judy Hughes 47t; Thomas Smith 136; Cheryl Foreman 475; Crystal Meadows 36b; Gaylon Powell 496; David Rousseau 341; Marcelene Hardy 572 (CB); Robert Vaughn 438; Margaret Rounsaval 135; Tammy Powell 535.

Beverly Coates led 62 as the closing song. Gaylon Powell offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Beverly Coates; Vice Chairman—Sonny Erwin; Secretary—Tammy Powell