Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of West Georgia

Food Services Building, Carrollton, Georgia

Sunday, February 17, 2008

The annual Sacred Harp singing at the University of West Georgia in Carrollton, Georgia, was held on the third Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Myron House, who welcomed everyone and led 59. The morning prayer was offered by Ed Thacker.

Leaders: Myron House 87; Phillip Langley 32t, 100; Charlene Wallace 99, 276; Karen Rollins 34b, 84; Jan House 171, 168; John Plunkett 126, 447; Lela Crowder 30t, 273.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Phillip Langley; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Lela Crowder.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 89, 138t; Mike Spencer 113, 354t; Judy Chambless 393, 40; Andy Morse 63, 31b; Sheri Taylor 278b, 268; Mary Brownlee 182, 163t.


The class was called together by Phillip Langley leading 224. Leaders: Jane Spencer and Carrie Allen 81t, 106; Robert Kelly 340, 346; Charles Woods 82t, 354b (for Mary Gray); Richard DeLong 74b, 109 (in memory of Loy Garrison); Lonnie Rogers 186, 318; Evelyn Harris 75, 108t; Hugh McGraw 404 (for Stephanie Tangler); Mary F. Smith and Teenie Moody 57; Teenie Moody and Carol Chapman 542; Donna Duke 217, 300; Lisa Webb and Christian Webb 566, 148.


The afternoon session was opened by Myron House leading 136. Leaders: Ed Thacker 278t, 53; Martha Setter 143; Earlis McGraw 389, 568; Oscar McGuire 371, 485; Mary Jo Shafer 179, 569b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karen Rollins and Sheri Taylor. Richard DeLong led 403 in memory of Gladys McGraw, Felton Denney, Elder Homer Benefield, Reby Stanford, and Loy Garrison—Georgia; B.J. Harris, LaRue Allen, M.B. Forbes, and Amanda Denson—Alabama.

Jan House led 361 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Josephine Denney, Myrtle Smith, Katherine Benefield, Myrtle Wootten, and Milton Oliver. The memorial was closed with prayer offered by Henry Johnson.

Leaders: Gabriel Pline 178, 345t; Laura Fry 168b, 358; Tommy McGraw 91, 475; Robert Chambless 494, 77t; Cecil Roberts 76b, 97; Kathy Williams 385b, 208; Gene Duke 384, 235; Louise Holland 373, 212; Jenna Frey 401, 46; Robert Kelly 330b; Henry Johnson 418; Ed Thacker 532; Jane Spencer and Mike Spencer 65.

Announcements were made. Myron House and Phillip Langley led 323t as the closing song. Ed Thacker dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Phillip Langley; Secretary—Charlene Wallace