Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

W.L. “Bill” Green Memorial Baldwin County
Sacred Harp Convention (Cooper Edition)

Church of Christ Fellowship Hall, Bay Minette, Alabama

January 26-27, 2008

Saturday, January 26

The W.L. “Bill” Green Memorial/Baldwin County Sacred Harp Convention was opened by Bill Hogan, who welcomed everyone and led 36b and 575. John Merritt offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairmen—J.A. Mosley, Danny Creel, and Henry Johnson; Secretary—Nancy Hogan.

Leaders: J.A. Mosley and Alice Mosley 343; Danny Creel 559; Nancy Hogan 324; Nate Green and Norma Green 61; Robert Chambless 141; Aubrey Barfield 552; Christine Gandy 143; Brian Naylor 572; Uel Freeman 571; Gaston White 40; Mary Whitehurst 101t; Eddie Mash 450; Emily Creel 464; Frank Strickland 100.


Danny Creel brought the class back together leading 140. Leaders: Judy Caudle 138t; Sue Bunch 478; Voncile Nall and Adrian Nall 442t; Henry Johnson 70b; Bridgett Hill 84; Connie Stanton 410; Buna Mae Purvis 408; Judy Chambless 560; Frank Hataway 283t; John Merritt 380 (for J.A. Mosley); Joan Aldridge 39; Joe Nall 272; Eva Padgett 215; Margaret Spurlock 112.


J.A. Mosley and Bill Hogan called the class back to order leading 282. Leaders: Charlotte Naylor 85; Rodney Ivey 133; Elsie Moon 558; Ann Jett 518; Adrian Nall 358; Harrison Creel 355; John Etheridge 524; Tommie Spurlock 433; Wanda Capps 505; Cleo Murphy and the Southwest Mobile County Vocal Singers (Willie Ford, Willie Steele, Mary Lucy, Era Faile, Artemelia Rocker, Hester Gray, Rhonda Mosley, Estell Blackman, Ada Banks, Mamie Henley, Sandra Stewart) sang “Shouting on the Hill” and “Lord Build Me a Cabin in Glory”. The class sang 369, and Bill Hogan offered the blessing of the food for the noon meal.


Danny Creel brought the class to order leading 86. Leaders: Bill Aplin 285; Paulette Chavers 447t; Sarah Smith 96; Earnestine Pipkin 276; Victoria Aplin, Wanda Capps, Elsie Moon, Sarah Smith, John Etheridge (The Hat Brigade) 72; Paul White 235; Jewell Rowland 341; Gary Smith 553; Hubert Nall 212; Bud Oliver 444; Marion Patrick 516; Russ Scholz 49b; John Plunkett 322; Loretta Jones 47b; Morgan Bunch 245; Becky Briggs 146; Genny Whitworth and Sandy Nicholson 92; Judy Caudle 452 (by request).

After announcements were made, the class sang 463 (by request) and shared the hand of fellowship. The day of singing was closed with prayer offered by Danny Creel.

Sunday, January 27

Bill Hogan opened the Sunday morning session leading 52t. He read from the Bible, Second Timothy 1:5-10, followed by prayer.

Leaders: J.A. Mosley 59; Henry Johnson 315; Nate Green and Norma Green 116; Nancy Hogan 95b (for Beufa Green), 381t; Aubrey Barfield 200; John Plunkett 381t; Bud Oliver 563; Joan White 547; Hubert Nall 508; Billy Kelly 572; Gary Smith 507b; Morgan Bunch 430; Alice Mosley 484.


Henry Johnson brought back the class by leading 425. Leaders: Paul White 148; John Merritt “Higher Ground”; Sarah Smith 392; Emily Creel 404; Earnestine Pipkin 171; Judy Chambless 339; Wanda Capps 222; Brian Kelly 384.


J.A. Mosley brought the class back to order leading 367. Leaders: Tommy Spurlock 86.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Bill Hogan. The list of deceased was read and included the following: Flarce Creel, Edith Tate, Heath Jett, Marie Guthrie, Ruby Seaman, Eliot Scott, Herby Bailey, LaRue Allen, William O. Nall, Mamie Harper Noles, Delores Beasley, John Hyde, Eldora Moody, Ernie Mae Mosley, Jeanette Lowry, and Lloyd Fowler. Bill Hogan led 567 in their memory.

John Merritt led 539 for the following sick and shut-ins: Charlotte McCarn, Milton Oliver, Pauline Oliver, Amanda Denson, Thurman Nall, Lou Nall, Guy Bankes, Cathryn Bearov, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Betty Jenkins, Martha Jane Fowler, and Emma Mosley. To close the memorial lesson, Bill Hogan offered prayer.

Leaders: Elsie Moon 414; Harrison Creel 277, 292b; Robert Chambless 451; Ann Jett 515; John Etheridge 519b; Adrian Nall 393; Rodney Ivey 497, 465 (for Coy Ivey); Margaret Spurlock 268t; Joe Nall 189; Joan Aldridge 573; Frank Hataway 401; Becky Briggs 571; Loretta Jones 63. The class sung 369, and Hubert Nall offered the blessing for the noon meal.


John Plunkett brought the class back together leading 496b. Leaders: Connie Stanton 391; Voncile Nall 73t; Sue Bunch 293b; Judy Caudle 434; Frank Strickland 488; Eddie Mash 78, 398b; Mary Whitehurst and Nancy Hogan 559; Aubrey Barfield 163t; Aurora Crook 388; Paul White, Joan White, and Mary Whitehurst 186, 60; Connie Stanton 99; 54t; Gary Smith 336t; Morgan Bunch and Sue Bunch 264b; John Merritt and Bridget Foster 358; Sarah Smith and Becky Briggs 408; Adrian Nall and Voncile Nall 47b.

After announcements were made, Nate Green, Norma Green, Genny Whitworth, Bill Hogan, and Nancy Hogan led 543. Aubrey Barfield offered prayer to close the convention. The parting hand and hugs were shared.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairmen—J.A. Mosley, Danny Creel, and Henry Johnson; Secretary—Nancy Hogan