Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Community Center, Henderson, Texas

August 11-12, 2007

Saturday, August 11

The East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Community Center in Henderson, Texas, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Sam Craig leading 31t. The morning prayer was offered by Robert Vaughn.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts.

Leaders: Sam Craig 57; John Morris 63; Eddie Mash 541; Alice Johnson 128; Eddie Huckaby 87; Charlie Vaughn 335; Chris Wiggins 143; Owen Ross 200; Bob McLemore 58; Tommy Spurlock 183; Robert Vaughn 524; Barbara Moore 171; Stanley Smith 53; Louis Hughes 528b; Monnie Ross 49t; Loyd Ivey 460; Tammy Powell 192; Aubrey Barfield 464; Leon Ballinger 463; Grant Howard 573; Linda Booker 505; Gaylon Powell 91; Sonny Erwin 336t.


The class was called back to order by Buzz Fullen, mayor of Henderson, who gave welcoming remarks. Announcements were made.

Leaders: Sam Craig 100; Donald Ross 393b; Crystal Meadows 99; Reed Coates 98; Joan Aldridge 559; Myrl Jones 491; David Ivey 292b; Ernestine Pipkin 276; Cheryl Foreman 203; Rodney Ivey 398b; Priscilla Wiggins 277; Judy Hughes 516; Diane Ross 434; Gary Rogan 453b; Richard Ivey 567; Scott Curran 416t; Baron Powers 239; Vivian Rogan 148; Lindsey Wiggins 189; Shera Bowers 571; Tim McClain and Lowell McClain 450; Zach Rogan 159; Margaret Rounsvall 222; Joshua McClain 563. Owen Ross offered prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Sam Craig leading 145b. Leaders: Anita Buswell 340; Margie Neal 142; Bill Bailey 332; Melanie Bowers 360; Nate Green and Norma Green 84; Robert Handel 210; Amanda Owen 155; Chris Adams 288; Catherine Rogan 299; Dick Steil 268t; Dale Redmon, Jr. 540; Bruce Coates 484; Jeb Owen 106; Beverly Coates 273; John Beard 282; Mike Hinton 78; H.P. O’Mary 146.


The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 395b. Leaders: Liz Owen 478; Morris Nelms 36t; Bridgett Hill 137; Judy Caudle 515; Cassie Allen 552; LaRue Allen 36b; Phyllis Costner 217; Riley Owen 401; Donn Howard 49b; Katie Mahoney 29b; Trevor Howard 67; Alexa Gilmore 138t; Tom Owen 47b; Rich Lee 47t; Ryan Ross 182; Sarah Huckaby 421; David Rousseau 447t; John Etheridge 76b; Ainsley Ross 348t; Gaylon Powell 235. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by John Morris.

Saturday Night, August 11

Saturday night at the Rusk County Expo Center in Henderson, a Mexican buffet was enjoyed by approximately 110 singers and their families. After eating, the group gathered and sang Christian Harmony songs. A good time was enjoyed by all.

Sunday, August 12

The Sunday session was opened by Sam Craig leading 553. The morning prayer was offered by Sonny Huckaby.

Leaders: Sam Craig 225t; Gaylon Powell 174; Bridgett Hill 380t; Eddie Mash 39; John Etheridge 60; Eddie Huckaby 38b; Tommie Spurlock 140; Katie Mahoney 319; Joan Smith 127; Margie Neal 522; Bill Bailey 330t; Rodney Ivey 356; Stanley Smith 120; Charlie Vaughn 549; Rich Lee 392; Louis Hughes 543; Richard Ivey 559; Judy Caudle 195; Aubrey Barfield 220; Joan Aldridge 344; David Ivey 492; Ernestine Pipkin 110.


The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 270. Leaders: Jo Pendleton 47t; Nate Green and Norma Green 41; Monnie Ross 367; Robert Handel 511t; Cassie Allen 355; Dale Redmon, Jr. 514; Josh Rogan 224; LaRue Allen 414; Loyd Ivey 501; Diane Ross 168; Tom Owen 312; Ryan Ross 196.

Sam Craig conducted the memorial lesson by reading the names of the sick and shut-ins. John Morris led 73t in their honor.

Sam Craig read the list of those who have passed away since last year’s convention. The following deceased were remembered: Verla Huckaby—Arkansas; Mary Ballinger and Verna Powell—Texas; Minja Lausevic—Minnesota; Wilton Donaldson, John Hyde, Flarce Creel, Carolyn Puckett, B.J. Harris, Marie Guthrie, Herby Bailey, and Eldora Moody—Alabama. Gaylon Powell led 111b in their memory. Mike Hinton closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Sarah Huckaby 442t; Donald Ross 95t; Bruce Coates 133; Jeb Owen 558; Liz Owen and Riley Owen 119; Kris Wiggins 331b. The blessing for the noon meal was offered by Tom Owen.


The afternoon session was called to order by Sam Craig leading 145b. Leaders: Sonny Erwin 199; Alexa Gilmore 400; Crystal Meadows 215; Beverly Coates 198; Scott Curran 384; Phyllis Costner 222; Morris Nelms 393t; Tammy Powell 216; Barbara Moore 229; Zach Rogan 77t; Priscilla Wiggins 422b; Vivian Rogan 508; Chris Adams 112; Linda Bookan 410; Catherine Rogan 218; Lindsay Wiggins 212; Mike Hinton and Sam Hinton 544; Gary Rogan 54t; Dick Steil 485; Donald Ross and Ainsley Ross 348t; Robert Vaughn and Charlie Vaughn 387; David Rousseau 159; Burl Russell 164; Jonathan Pendleton 388; Sonny Huckaby 68t.

Sam Craig led 484 as the closing song. Donald Ross dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts