Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Smith Memorial Annual Sacred Harp Singing (Cooper Book / the Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision)

New Harmony Community Center, New Harmony, Texas

Saturday, March 10, 2007

The 28th session of the Smith Memorial Sacred Harp singing was called to order by Tina Walston leading 488t (CB). Dallas Smith offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Beverly Coates 31b; Tammy Powell 163b; Sue Utz 335 (CB); Gaylon Powell 418 (CB), 540 (CB); Robert Vaughn 333 (CB), 282 (CB); Bruce Coates 201 (CB), 336t (CB); Judy Hughes 507b (CB), 516 (CB); Marian Grant 275b, 268; Sonny Erwin 452, 454; Lawson Smith 284 (CB), 434 (CB); Marcelene Hardy 172 (CB), 192 (CB).


Tina Walston brought the class back leading 571 (CB). Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 336b (CB), 497; Beverly Coates 146 (CB), 168 (CB); Myrl Jones 572 (CB), 491 (CB); Margaret Roundsaval 112 (CB), 288 (CB); Thomas Smith 235 (CB), 136 (CB); Monnie Ross 49t (CB), 108b (CB); Azalea Barnett 503 (CB), 563 (CB).

The memorial service was conducted by Robert Vaughn and Beverly Coates. Robert Vaughn led 290 (CB) in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Ophelia Matthews, Myra Palmer, Toby Utz, A.A. Smith, Jr., Marie Smith, Curtis Owen, and Edith Owen.

Beverly Coates led 490 in memory of the following deceased: Mary Ballinger, Russell Glen Smith, Verna Powell, Charlotte (Fisher) Wood, and Mildred Parker. Bruce Coates closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Tammy Powell 463 (CB), 138t (CB); Gaylon Powell 96 (CB), 465 (CB).


Beverly Coates began the afternoon session leading 101t (CB).

A business meeting was held. The nominations committee, Bruce Coates and Gaylon Powell, gave their report. The officers for 2008 are: Chairperson—Beverly Coates; Vice Chairperson—Sonny Erwin; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Treasurer—Sue Utz; Chaplin—Dallas Smith. This concluded the business meeting.

Leaders: David Rousseau 341 (CB), 127 (CB); Marian Grant 31t (CB), 32t (CB); Bruce Coates 74b (CB), 332 (CB); Monnie Ross 108t (CB), 45t (CB); Robert Vaughn 524 (CB), 383 (CB); Judy Hughes 99 (CB), 573 (CB); Sonny Erwin 528b (CB), 511t (CB); Monica Hill 500 (CB), 501 (CB); Sue Utz 406 (CB), 404 (CB); Cheryl Foreman 276 (CB), 217 (CB); Margaret Roundsaval 171 (CB), 137 (CB); Myrl Jones 142 (CB), 300 (CB); Marcelene Hardy 189 (CB), 222 (CB).

Announcements were made. Beverly Coates led 62 (CB) as the closing song. Robert Vaughn offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Tina Walston; Vice Chairperson—Beverly Coates; Secretary—Tammy Powell