Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Joe Beasley Memorial Singing

Concord Primitive Baptist Church, Winfield, Alabama

December 9-10, 2006

Saturday, December 9

The twelfth annual Joe Beasley Memorial Singing was called to order by John Beasley leading 31b. Marlin Beasley offered the morning prayer.

The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition; The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Edition; Christian Harmony; The New Harp of Columbia, and the Lloyd’s Hymnal were the books used for the singing.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—John Beasley; Vice Chairman—Richard Schmeidler; Secretary—Sandie Scott.

Leaders: John Beasley 68b; Richard Schmeidler 66; Regina Bayer 270; Marlin Beasley 63; Sandie Scott 186; Josie Hyde 266; Diane Mennella 77b; Jubal Bayer 106; Brenda Pena 480; Cora Sweatt 312b; Patsy Frascatore 163b; John Bayer 300; Elizabeth Keeton 566; Eugene Forbes 101t; Charlotte Ehrman 350; Alex Chandler 282; Sarah Smith 73t; Hans Bayer 59; Margaret Keeton 138t; Wilton Donaldson 317; Loraine Bayer 203.


Henry Schuman brought the class back to order leading 32t. Leaders: Nellie Alexander 340; Velton Chafin 463; Becky Briggs 460; Glenn Keeton 475 (for Flarce Creel); Virginia Douglas 38b; Gary Smith 565; Marilyn Burchett 567; J.C. Rutledge 39b; Travis Keeton 482; Chug Beasley 235; Jeremy Shipp 93; Henry Guthery 149; Diane Mennella and Marilyn Burchett 254.


Marlin Beasley began the Cooper Book session with 199. Leaders: John Bayer 511t; Sandie Scott 507t; Alex Chandler 133; Becky Briggs and Chug Beasley 571; Jubal Bayer 140; Glenn Keeton 505; Sarah Smith 519; Jeremy Shipp 175b; Diane Mennella 81; Eugene Forbes 522; Regina Bayer 54t; Velton Chafin 464; Virginia Douglas 49b; Richard Schmeidler 137; Marilyn Burchett 484; J.C. Rutledge 500; Brenda Pena 393; Henry Guthery 450; Loraine Bayer 411; Gary Smith and Patsy Frascatore 507b; Hans Bayer 39; Nellie Alexander 32t; Dorothea McCowan 229.


Marlin Beasley began the Christian Harmony session leading 225b. Leaders: Jeremy Shipp 346; Henry Guthery 120; Virginia Douglas 89; Richard Schmeidler 117; Josie Hyde 77.

Songs led from the New Harp of Columbia were as follows: Cora Sweatt and Jeremy Shipp 144; Diane Mennella 73; Jeremy Shipp 41.

Songs led from the Lloyd’s Hymnal were as follows: Marlon Beasley and Dorothea McCowan 333; Freddy Briggs 687; Thomas Mitchell 109; Eugene Forbes 188.

Alex Chandler led 103 as the closing song, and Glenn Keeton dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, December 10

The Sunday session was called to order by John Beasley with 31t. Harrison Creel offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Richard Schmeidler 34b; Sandie Scott 408; Marlon Beasley 75; . Diane Mennella 73b; Ricky Beasley 30t, 39b; Elene Stovall 273, 182; Gary Smith 225t; Jennifer Allred 203; Juanita Beasley 61; Harrison Creel 111b; Steve Adams 101t; Marilyn Burchett 358, 49t (for the Clayton Ezell family and for Dick Mauldin); Jeremy Shipp 125; Cora Sweat 46; Wilton Donaldson 229; Brenda Merritt 336; Gravis Ballinger 300; Virginia Douglas 85; David Beasley 45t.


Marlon Beasley brought the class to order with 317. Leaders: Buell Cobb 33b; Ashley Cook 388; Guy Bankes 507; Julietta Haynes 216; Warren Steel 211; Johnny Humber 460; Patsy Frascatore 198; Kermit Adams 288.

Emily Creel and Judy Caudle conducted the memorial lesson. Emily Creel spoke and led 546 for the following deceased: Elsie Beasley, Robie Hallmark, John Hyde, and Teddy Creel—Alabama, Betty Blankers, Hibberd Thatcher, and Herbert Cox, Jr.—Tennessee; Philip Dodson and Donnie McGraw—Georgia; Norma Koenig—Pennsylvania; Marcia Tucker—California; Mark Seiler—Maine; Lee R. Wise—Mississippi.

Judy Caudle led 129 in honor of the sick and shut-ins: Herby Bailey, Flarce Creel, Dick Mauldin, Milton Oliver, and Jimmie Gilmore—Alabama; Emily Boswell—Mississippi; Pauline Childers—Michigan; Edith Tate—Florida. The memorial lesson was concluded.

Leaders: Bridgett Hill 302; Becky Briggs 384; Alex Chandler 186; Dorothea McCowan 218; Carolyn Thompson 86.


Marlon Beasley called the class to order leading 192. Leaders: Emily Creel 475 (for Flarce Creel); Earl Ballinger 187; Josie Hyde and Sharon Spiller 225b; Lisa Geist 532; Cecil Wakefield 349; Beth O’Dell 222; Beth O’Dell and Amelia O’Dell 224; Hugh Bill McGuire 110; Judy Caudle 81b; Amanda Denson and Elene Stovall 306; Chuck Howell 112; Charlotte Ehrman 77t; Bunk Beasley and Haley Beasley 354b; Samantha Spiller 108t; Larry Ballinger 109; Sarah Smith 290; John Merritt and Charlotte Ehrman “Nothing But the Blood of Jesus”; John Merritt 108b; Ann Ballard 390; Lena Keeton 497; Brenda Pena 490; Max Berueffy 280; Margaret Keeton 276; Travis Keeton 341; Henry Schuman 528; Cora Sweatt, Marlin Beasley, Sarah Smith, Ann Ballard, Bunk Beasley, Becky Briggs, and John Beasley 146.

Announcements were made. John Beasley and Richard Schmeidler led 62 as the closing song. Hugh Bill McGuire dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—John Beasley; Vice Chairman—Richard Schmeidler; Secretary—Sandie Scott