Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mount Pisgah Singing Society (Cooper Book)

Chambers County, Alabama

May 25, 1996

This singing was organized in 1903/reorganized in 1992.

The annual Cooper Book singing at Mount Pisgah Church was held on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in May. The class was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Chairman Don L. Clark leading songs on pages 335 and 64. The morning prayer was offered by Gaylon Powell. Leaders and their selections were as follows: Regina Clark 558, 168; Alice Hochstetler 440b; Mary Elizabeth Lee 505, 361; Steve Grauberger 571; G. C. Waldrep 546; Flarce Creel 39; Wendell Hickox 62; Johnny Lee 225; Johnny Lee and Virgil Phillips 137; Harrison Creel 355.


After a 10 minute recess the class was reassembled by Don Clark leading song on page 422b. Leaders: Hannah Lee 360; Ann Jett 503; Kathy Lee 48b; Cassie Franklin 559, 393t; Wanda Capps 200; David Lee 501; Cindy Franklin 229; Gaylon Powell 522; Karen Martin 159; Curtis Rogers 447t; Rachel Lee and Carrie Martin 140; Eugene Forbes 36b; Brenda Merritt 133; Liz Bryant 270; S. T. Reed 54t.


After a 10 minute recess, order was restored by Don L. Clark leading song on page 224. Leaders: Isabelle Green 341; Emmie Lou Grayson 569; Freeman Wootten 128; Helen Bryson 172 for Christine Keeble, 484; Jenny Gurley 112; Phil Slay 72; Clarke Lee 563; Daphene Causey 304; Jewel Wootten 507b; Stanley Smith 156; Judy Hauff 336t; John Etheridge 38t; Shane Wootten 201; Linda Thomas 500; Velton Chafin 491; B. M. Smith 38b; Bud Oliver 47t. The class was dismissed one hour for lunch.


The afternoon session was called to order by Don Clark leading song on page 520. Leaders: Norma Latham 511b; Clyde Watkins 106 for Ralph Heath and J. C. Harden; Edna Ruth Phillips 453t; Murray Carter 491; Julie Lee 437; Kate Merritt 171; Lonnie Rogers 395b; Agnes Farris 410; Jeff Sheppard 497; Eloise Avery 478; A. C. Carter 89; Marshall Avery 85; John Merritt “Confederate Memorial Lesson”; Paula Fagan 488b.


After a 10 minute recess, order was restored by Chairman Don Clark leading song on page 100. Leaders: Linda Fagan 335; Julianna Jett 146; Horace Batchelor 56; John Plunkett 358; Jimmie Denney 101t; Bill Farris 87; Annie Lee Price 373; Leonard Price 290; Tommy Spurlock 183, 553; Brenda Merritt 94 for Ruby Phillips; David Lee and Clarke Lee “Sweet Hour of Prayer”.

We thank each and every one of you for your support in helping to make the day a wonderful success. A contribution of $165.20 was received from the class for expenses. John Merritt gave special wishes to his daughter Kate, who is graduating from high school this year. Please make plans to join us next year on Saturday, May 24, 1997. Announcements were made. Don Clark led song on page 527 for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Elder Marshall Avery.

Chairman—Don L. Clark; Secretary—Regina Clark.