Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp
Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Austin, Texas

October 28-29, 2006

Saturday, October 28

The fall session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Sri Atmananda Memorial School in Austin, Texas. The session was called to order by Chairman Scott Curran leading 336t. Prayer was offered by Bruce Coates.

The following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Scott Curran; Vice Chairman—Liz Owen; Secretary—John Baker.

Leaders: Scott Curran 98; John Baker 137; Cassandra Baker 31t; Alexa Gilmore 30b; David McPherson 505; Gary Rogan 54t; Jessica Garris 133; Jeff Bell 379; Vivian Rogan 36b; Leon Ballinger 507b; Al Rogers 63; Brennen Leigh 270; Beverly Coates 155; Sonny Erwin 511t; John Kerr 393t; Linda Booker 138t; Billy Huckaby 217; Rich Lee 331b; Amanda Owen 68t; Frank Price 135; Doris Hanks 422b; Bill Bailey 332; Jo Pendleton and Jonathan Pendleton 348t; Mike Hinton 288; Katie Mahoney 215.


Liz Owen brought the class back to order leading 73t. Leaders: Olivia Powell 171; Tom Owen 60; Ayne Ray 559; Mary Ann Ray 358; Kevin Powell 230; Meira Boggess 224; Terre Schill 172; Daniel Allcock 168; John Morris 163t; Owen Ross 162; Cheryl Foreman 53; Judy Hughes 572; Margie Neal 522; Peter Nichols 571; Jenna Strizak 383; Bruce Coates 563; Michelle Rogan 47b; Cissy Moseley 142; Gaylon Powell 566; Jeb Owen 106; Sarah Huckaby 416t; Amy Denison 129; George Jones 558. The class was dismissed for lunch with prayer by Gaylon Powell.


Scott Curran called the afternoon session together with 99. Leaders: Catherine Rogan 110; Robert Vaughn 380t; Myrl Jones 491; Lindsey Wiggins 478; Curtis Owen 442t; Alexa Gilmore 76b; David McPherson 449; Jessica Garris 122; Sonny Huckaby 450; Jeff Bell 38t; Al Rogers 575; Gary Rogan 132; Brennen Leigh 319; Beverly Coates 210; Sonny Erwin 199; Linda Booker 573; Vivian Rogan 508.


Liz Owen, 299. Leaders: Amanda Owen, 465; Rich Lee 283t; Katie Moseley 293b; Jo Pendleton 72; Owen Ross 304; Cissy Moseley 543; Margie Neal 192; Jenna Strizak 335; Leon Ballinger 384; Mike Hinton 339; Frank Price 127; Doris Hanks 470; Bill Bailey 39; Katie Mahoney 535t; Cheryl Foreman 140; Judy Hughes 516; Tom Owen 85; Mary Ann Ray 329; Ayne Ray 282; Meira Slaughter Boggess 239.

Scott Curran led 406 as the closing song, and the closing prayer was offered by Leon Ballinger.

Sunday, October 30

Chairman Scott Curran called the class together with 101t. Prayer was offered by Robert Vaughn.

Leaders: Scott Curran 203; Liz Owen 277; Cassandra Baker 40; John Baker 35; Leon Ballinger 297; Margie Neal 220; Reed Coates 186; Jenna Strizak 438b; Bruce Coates 75; Amy Denison 400; Jeff Bell 32t; Marilyn Burkland 553; Al Rogers 463; Jessica Garris 416t; Sonny Erwin 491; Linda Booker 559; Garrett Powell 299; Lindsey Wiggins 434; Robert Vaughn 273; Gaylon Powell 103; Curtis Owen 343; Katie Mahoney 195.


Scott Curran called the class to order with 444t. Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 567; Alexa Gilmore 300; David McPherson 71; Vivian Rogan 387; Edith Owen 515; Rich Lee 43; John Kerr 268t; Gary Rogan 168; Brennen Leigh 488b; Catherine Rogan 497; Sarah Huckaby 421; Mary Ann Ray 388; Jeb Owen 138t; Terre Schill 414; Meira Boggess 522; Mike Hinton 146; Ayne Ray 571.

Gaylon Powell conducted the memorial lesson and read the list of the deceased: Verna Powell, Araminta Roberts, Clifford Alan Bell, Helen Stevens, Marcia Tucker, Sharon Stephenson, John Hyde, Pauline Willis and Viola Jones. He then led 486 in memory of his grandmother, Verna Powell. Mike Hinton then led 544 for the remainder of the deceased.

Liz Owen then read the list of sick and shut-ins and led 179 for the following: Harold Lackey, Myra Palmer, Junior Smith, Lawson Smith, Ophelia Matthews, Richard Mauldin, Sr., Myrl Jones, Pete Baker, Thomas Shuford, Kevin Lee, Sarah Deere, and Leland Owen.

Leaders: Kevin Powell 142; Amanda Owen 198; Billy Huckaby 424; Daniel Allcock 183; Peter Nichols 159; Frank Price 143. Tom Owen then closed the morning session with prayer.


Scott Curran started the final session leading 225t. Leaders: Doris Hanks 189; Tom Owen 398b; Michelle Rogan 128; Kevin Lee 82; Margie Neal 112; Jeff Bell 411; Sonny Erwin 113; David McPherson 500; Vivian Rogan 148; Olivia Powell 235; Bill Bailey 348t; James Mason 512; Robert Vaughn 468; Beverly Coates 210; Gary Rogan 276; Cheryl Foreman 365; Meira Boggess 164; Mike Hinton 563; Jenna Strizak 96.

Announcements were made. Leaders: Scott Curran 42; Reed Coates 98; Frank Price 49t; Amy Denison 170; Marilyn Burkland 45t; Al Rogers 54t; Jessica Garris 543; Linda Booker 410; Lindsey Wiggins 419; Bruce Coates 48b.

The officers led 62 as the closing song, and Curtis Owen dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Scott Curran; Vice Chair—Liz Owen; Secretary—John Baker.