Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Tennessee State Convention

Second Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Five Points, Tennessee

October 7-8, 2006

Saturday, October 7

The twelfth annual session of the Tennessee State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Tim Reynolds leading 59. John Edmondson offered the evening prayer. Selections of songs are from the B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Book, 1992 Edition.

Leaders: Tim Reynolds 449; Clayton Ezell 199; Kerene Box and Clayton Ezell 334; Sandie Scott 408, 571; Marjorie Norwood 119; Vella B. Gillespie 358; Marilyn Burchett 484; Henry Guthery 522; Sarah Smith 519b; Ed Thacker 516; Beverly Coates 270; Cassie Allen 292b; Margaret Thacker 553.


The class resumed singing with Tim Reynolds leading 159. John Edmondson led 85.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Gordon Wilkinson; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett.

Leaders: Wanda Capps 505; Gary Smith 517, 336t; Emily Creel 133; Bruce Coates 442t, 444t; Marcia Edmondson 128; Harrison Creel 54t; Debbie Sides 508; Gordon Wilkinson 112; Clayton Ezell, Kerene Box, Vella B. Gillespie, Mina Bell Gillespie, Thelma Elliott, and Reva Lee 358; Beverly Coates 393t; Henry Guthery 140; Cassie Allen 229.

Tim Reynolds led 132 as the closing song. Gary Smith offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, October 8

Gordon Wilkinson called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. leading 30t. Selections of songs are from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition.

Leaders: Gordon Wilkinson 100; Clayton Ezell 31t; Kerene Box and Michael Box 155, 405; Flarce Creel 475; Henry Guthery 101t, 97; Marilyn Burchett 36b, 457; Cassie Allen 120, 341; Harrison Creel 111b, 512; Margaret Thacker 480, 39b; Gravis Ballinger 112, 384; Shelley Calvert, Emily Creel, and Cassie Allen 124.


The class was brought back to order by Clayton Ezell leading 34b. Leaders: Sheryl Foreman 344, 318; Bruce Coates 334, 31t; Sarah Smith 274t, 35; Clay Mattox 335; Sandie Scott 119, 178; Lauren Blankers 81t, 40. The prayer for the noon meal was offered by Gary Smith.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Gordon Wilkinson leading 145t. Leaders: Gail Doss 421, 270; Larry Ballinger 418, 425; David Carlton 332, 212.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Gary Smith, Cleland Ezell, and Sandie Scott. Paige Allen and Alisha Williams led 143 in memory of their father, Carthol Williams, who passed away in 2006. Gary Smith, Cleland Ezell, and Sandie Scott led 163t for the following deceased: Hibbard Thatcher, Carthol Williams, Betty Blankers, David Schaeffer, Elder Tom Hart, and Larry Olszewski—Tennessee; John Hyde, Elsie Beasley, Teddy Creel, L.E. Hannah, and Brandon Allsup—Alabama; Sgt. Phillip Dodson, Bobby Jackson, and Donnie McGraw—Georgia; Verna Powell—Texas.

Sandie Scott read the names of the sick and shut-ins and led 163b in their honor. Those remembered were Frances Maddox, Thomas Robinson, Mrs. Adcock, and Thelma Ezell—Tennessee; Josie Hyde, Richard Mauldin, Dick Mauldin, Milton Oliver, Dale Harris, Shelbie Sheppard, Thurman Nall, Herby Bailey, and Jean Ballinger—Alabama; Edith Tate—Florida; Pauline Childers—Michigan; Mary L. Smith—Georgia. The memorial was closed.

Leaders: Margie Norwood 452; Lucy Heidorn 175, 186; Clayton Ezell, Laris Ezell, Kerene Box, Vella B. Gillespie, Mina Bell Gillespie, Thelma Elliott, Dot Ezell, Iris Jean Durham, and Reva Lee 294, 358; Earl Ballinger 203, 224; Sheryl Foreman 276; Harrison Creel, Flarce Creel, Wanda Capps, Lucy Heidorn, and Emily Creel 342; Don Kent and Darylene Kent 49t, 49b; Bruce Coates 535; Vella B. Gillespie, Paige Allen, and Alisha Williams 408, 340; Beverly Coates 66.

Gordon Wilkinson led 521 as the closing song. Harrison Creel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Gordon Wilkinson; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett.