Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B.F. White Sacred Harp Singing Convention (J.L. White 1911 Revision)

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Sunday, September 17, 2006

The annual singing convened at Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia, the third Sunday in September. John Plunkett opened the singing leading 59. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were previously elected to serve: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary/Treasurer—Sandra Wilkinson.

Leaders: Sandra Wilkinson 264b; John Hollingsworth 496t; Russ Hanson 526; Tony Hammock 61; Henry Johnson 81t; Helen Bryson 297; Martha Harrell 77t; Sharon Hamrick 276; Erica Hinton 42; Mike Spencer 548t; Ed Thacker 269; Floyd Bennett 452b; Martha Ann Stegar 517; Phillip Langley 455; Don Clark 512; Jeremy Shipp 303b; Carol Hanson 47b; Bob Goodman 491b; Lee Rogers 490b.


Sandra Wilkinson called the class to order leading 316. Leaders: Mary Brownlee 224; Karen Clark 504; Bud Oliver 486t; Vaudie Sherer 328; Raymond Hamrick 487b; Richard DeLong 138t (in memory of Bill Green); Violet Thomason 112, 189; Tom Hanson 36b (in memory of his mother, Berta Hanson); Matt Hinton 29b; Malinda Snow 138b; Andy Anderson 478t; Judy Mincey 544t (for Don Bowen); Andy Morse 492. Prayer was offered at the lunch table by Henry Johnson.


The class was brought to order by John Plunkett leading 500t and 500b. Leaders: Sandra Wilkinson 507; John Hollingsworth 543t; Russ Hanson 222; Tony Hammock 139; Debora Grosse 137; Henry Johnson 410; Matt Hinton 148; Glen Latimer 135; Helen Bryson 217.

Karen Clark conducted the memorial for the deceased and led 97. Those remembered were Olin Gresham, Cora Lou Wagner, Bartowe Harber, Bobby Jackson, Nina Hamrick, Myra Smith, Robert L. Green, Hillman Ryan, Earl Beyerle, Clarice Allen, Ruth Johnson, and Donnie McGraw—Georgia; Lois Stanson, Bill Green, and Brandon Allsup—Alabama; Milton Morris—Florida.

Helen Bryson led 129 for the sick and shut-ins. Those remembered were Ben Leavelle, Lamar George, Don Bowen, Lisa Cole Sweat, Richard Mauldin, Herby Bailey, and Milton Oliver. The class stood as Russ Hanson led 317b, “America”, in recognition of the fifth anniversary of the terrorist attack on our country, and in memory of those who died in this attack, those who perished trying to save the lives of others, those who have since died in defense of this country, and in honor of those who continue to serve in our armed forces abroad. The memorial was closed with prayer by Tom Hanson.

Leaders: Martha Ann Stegar and Lyn Deadmore 45t; Erica Hinton 447t; Mike Spencer 545t; Laura Akerman 519; Leah Latimer, Anna Latimer, Jennifer Latimer, and Austin Latimer 358.


Sandra Wilkinson called the class to order leading 144. Leaders: Ed Thacker 403; Violet Thomason and Valerie Duckie 485b; Alice West 314; Don Clark 378b; Jeremy Shipp 318; Bud Oliver 73t; Raymond Hamrick 535 (in memory of Berry Wilkinson); Richard DeLong 286b; Judy Mincey 54t; Lee Rogers 444.

Carol Hanson, Leslie Hanson, Russ Hanson, Sandra Wilkinson, and Henry Johnson (as a quintet) sang 488b (in memory of Larry Wilkinson and Sadie Wilkinson).

Leaders: Bob Goodman 145b; Mary Brownlee and Martha Harrell 151; Floyd Bennett 63; Andy Morse 540.

Following announcements, John Plunkett led 389t. The singing was closed with prayer by Ed Thacker.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary/Treasurer—Sandra Wilkinson.