Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Community Center, Henderson, Texas

August 12-13, 2006

Saturday, August 12

The East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Community Center in Henderson, Texas, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Sam Craig leading 49t. The morning prayer was offered by Stanley Smith.

Songs from the 2006 Edition will be marked as (6-E)

Leaders: Sam Craig 100; John Morris 421; Robert Vaughn 142; Ernestine Pipkin 110; Aubrey Barfield 220; Kathryn Eastburn 449; Charlie Vaughn 63; Stanley Smith 268b; Tim McClain 45t; Eva Padgett 98; Kevin Powell 300; Tom Owen 299; Tommie Spurlock 183; Leon Ballinger 192; Hugh McGraw 416t; Al Rogers 575; Donald Ross 402; Fred Todt 335; Eddie Mash 96 (6-E); John Etheridge 60 (6-E); Charlene Wallace 171; Owen Ross 203; Ben Brown 148; Crystal Meadows 38t; Joshua McClain 47t; David Ivey 380t (6-E); Shane Wootten 133; Baron Powers 239.


The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 57. Buzz Fullen, mayor of Henderson, gave welcoming remarks. Leaders: Liz Owen 215; Bridgett Hill 450; Joel Jenkins 559; Jo Pendleton and Jonathan Pendleton 348t; Melanie Parker 106; Olivia Powell 235; Shera Parker 571; Garrett Powell 72; Judy Caudle 460; Chris Adams 288; Vivian Rogan 199; John Kanode 229; Robert Handel 140. Owen Ross offered the prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Sam Craig leading 558. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 463; Danny Creel and M.H. Creel 355; Lindsey Wiggins 434; Wanda Capps 505; Margaret Rounsavall 222; Grant Howard 508; Ryan Ross 120; M.H. Creel and Danny Creel 54t; Joan Aldridge 84; Frank Hataway 395b; Gaylon Powell 95b (6-E); Lynnette Howard 39; Monnie Ross 367; Jeb Owen 567; Diane Ross 168; Barbara Newell 159.


The class was called to order by Sam Craig leading 270. Leaders: Amanda Owen 198; Evelyn Lamb and Nancy Lamb 146; Trevor Howard 47b; Gary Rogan 155; Donn Howard 507b; Sonny Erwin 336t; Catherine Rogan 304; H.P. O’Mary 67; Mary Ann Ray 280; David Rousseau 179; Reed Coates 32t; Doris Hanks 422b; Beverly Coates 385t; Mike Hinton 544; Bruce Coates 31b; Meira Boggess 164; Scott Curran 384.

Sam Craig led 553 as the closing song. Bruce Coates offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Saturday night, August 12

Saturday night at the First Baptist Church in Henderson, a Mexican buffet was served, after which a viewing of the documentary, “Awake, My Soul: The Story of the Sacred Harp”, was shown. This was very much enjoyed by everyone attending.

Sunday, August 13

The Sunday session was opened at 9:25 a.m. by Sam Craig leading 31t. The morning prayer was offered by Robert Vaughn.

Leaders: Morris Nelms and John Etheridge 28t; Kevin Lee 277; Sonny Huckaby 126; Dale Redmon 514; Dick Steil 268t; Terre Schill and Myrl Jones 497; Joan Smith 127; Cheryl Foreman 53; Myrl Jones 142; Judy Hughes 516; Kay Martin 324; Liz Owen 212; Eddie Mash 78; Diane Ross 365; Hugh McGraw 506; Amanda Owen 465 (6-E); Kathryn Eastburn 99; Emmie Morris 220; Jeb Owen 464 (6-E); Robert Handel 546; Tom Owen 68b; Joshua McClain 511t; Charlene Wallace 388; Aubrey Barfield 532; Ernestine Pipkin 276; Charlie Vaughn 549; Crystal Meadows 543.


Sam Craig brought the class back to order leading 134. Leaders: Frank Hataway 336b; Doris Hanks 112; M.H. Creel 381t; Joel Jenkins 572; Jeannette Adams 275b; Trevor Howard 300; Howard O’Mary and Crystal Meadows 146; Gaylon Powell 358; John Etheridge 86; Scott Curran 68t; Wanda Capps 144.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Robert Vaughn, who read the words from 134 then read the names of those who had passed away since last year’s convention. The following were remembered: Vivian Allen, Hubert Beard, Joe Owen, Mildred Parker, Sharon Stephenson, Pauline Willis, and Nannie Pearl Woods—Texas; Teddy Creel, Bill Green, and Lois Stanson—Alabama; Bobby Jackson and Donnie McGraw—Georgia. Tom Owen led 344 in their memory.

John Morris read the names of the sick and shut-ins then led 337 in their honor. Robert Vaughn closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Chris Adams 61; Tim McClain 82; Tommie Spurlock 574; Meira Boggess 143; John Kanode 573. Sonny Huckeby offered the prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called together by Sam Craig leading 282. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 398b; Bridgett Hill 515; David Ivey 314; Shane Wootten 478; Joan Aldridge 541; Judy Caudle 410; Grant Howard 411; Mike Hinton 384; Lynnette Howard 393t; Burl Russell 164; Donn Howard 63; Catherine Rogan 414; Lindsey Wiggins 216; Evelyn Lamb 40; Leon Ballinger 137; Gary Rogan 176t; Vivian Rogan 387; Mary Ann Ray 49b; Bruce Coates 75; Sonny Erwin 563; Beverly Coates 29t; Reed Coates 442t; Stanley Smith 513t; Monnie Ross 108b; David Rousseau 447t; Robert Vaughn 293b; John Morris 390; Myrl Jones 189; Gaylon Powell 518; Joan Smith 444t; Emmie Morris 215; Tommie Spurlock 217; Lindsey Wiggins 383; Catherine Rogan 186.

Sonny Erwin led 484 for the closing song. Tommie Spurlock offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sam Craig; Vice Chairman—Robert Vaughn; Secretary—Carole Watts.