Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mount Pisgah Singing Society (Cooper Book)

Stroud, Chambers County, Alabama

Saturday, May 27, 2006

The annual all day session of the Mount Pisgah Singing Society met at Mount Pisgah Primitive Baptist Church, and was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by President Don Clark leading 36b. Tommie Spurlock offered the morning prayer. The President Don Clark led 186 and 72.

The officers of the singing are the following: President—Don Clark; First Vice President—John Etheridge; Second Vice President—Bobby Jackson; Secretary—Karen Clark.

Leaders: John Etheridge 450; Bobby Jackson 290; Karen Clark 430; Ed Thacker 268b; Judy Chambless 566; Andy Anderson 38t; Bobby Watkins 571; Anita Landess 500; Royce Sellers 447t; Bill Hogan and Nancy Hogan 27, 35; Sandra Wilkinson 501; Floy Wilder 224; Billy Kelley 558; Henry Guthery III 491.


The second session was called to order by Don Clark leading 81. Leaders: John Plunkett 444t (for Bobby Jackson); Loretta Jones 497; Jonathan Blakeley 559; Kathy Folsom 218; Frank Strickland 515; Tommie Spurlock 140; Phillip Langley 215; Jane Spencer 392; Donna Bell 507b; Marion Patrick 358; Brenda Merritt 567; Morgan Bunch 30t; Jeannette DePoy 518; S.T. Reed 138t; Ernestine Pipkin 276; Chita Blakeley 522; Henry Guthery 355.


Order was restored by Don Clark leading 76b. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 133; Danny Creel 404; Charlene Wallace 171; Lonnie Rogers 395b; Charlotte Bishop 229 (for Bobby Jackson); Wilburn Ellison 393t; Bobby Jackson 112; Phillip Reeves 31t; Jenny Willard 367 (for Bobby Jackson); Geraldine Rice 222; Gaylon Powell 216; David Lee 385t (for Bobby Jackson); Reba Windom 505; Helen Bryson 172 (for Christine Keeble).


The class sang “Mercy Seat” followed by Don Clark leading 146. Leaders: John Merritt 288; Jason Hollis 299; Sue Bunch 511t; Velton Chafin 453t; Louis Hughes 225t; Henry Johnson 184b; Syble Adams 572; Keith Willard 416b; Laura Densmore 191; Penina Kane 119; Nate Green and Norma Green 544; Robert Walker 336t; Jewel Wootten 573; Guy Bankes 55; Lela Crowder 99; Willie Mae Moon 204.


The final session of the day was called to order by Don Clark leading 282. Leaders: Frank Hataway 73t; Tor Bejnar and Alice Bejnar 179; Ford Bulger 176t; Thomas Willard 36b; Stanley Edwards 58 (for Bobby Jackson); Kathy Lee 374; Faye Hollis 168; Frank Strickland 488t; Lera Ellison 68b; Claudine Townsend 68t; Gaylon Powell 137; Laura Densmore 98; Guy Bankes 410; Keith Willard and Jenny Willard 563.

Announcements were made, and all who wished took the parting hand while singing 62. We are especially thankful that our Second Vice President, Bobby Jackson, was able to be at the singing today as he continues his battle with cancer. Phillip Reeves offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

President—Don Clark; First Vice President—John Etheridge; Second Vice President—Bobby Jackson; Secretary—Karen Clark.