Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

W.L. “Bill” Green Baldwin County Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Bay Minette Church of Christ Fellowship Hall, Bay Minette, Alabama

January 21-22, 2006

Saturday, January 21

The W.L. “Bill” Green Baldwin County Singing Convention was opened by Chairman Bill Hogan, who gave a welcome to all in attendance, led 198 and 575, and then offered the opening prayer.

Officers of the convention were as follows: Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairman—J.A. Mosley; Secretary—Alice Mosley; Assistant Secretary—Nancy Hogan.

Leaders: J.A. Mosley 572; Alice Mosley and Nancy Hogan 484; Frank Hataway 416t; Harrison Creel 381t; Milton Oliver 54t; Wanda Capps 505; Ann Jett 29b; Elsie Moon 404; Faye Jones 47b; Danny Creel 133; Mike Jones 497; Emily Creel 140; Bridgett Hill 392; Uel Freeman 571; Buena Mae Purvis and Wanda Faye Shumock 410; Rodney Ivey 355; Nate Green 544; Joe Nall 461.


J.A. Mosley brought the class to order leading 101t. Leaders: Cindy Tanner 559; Tommie Spurlock 433; John Etheridge 419; Ernest Cockcroft 573; Hubert Nall 84; John Merritt 263; Henry McGuire 411; Morgan Bunch 383; Bill Aplin 466; Sue Bunch 444t; Sandie Scott 408; Becky Briggs 405; Bud Oliver 345t; Sarah Smith 553; Loretta Jones 138b; Gary Smith 543; Russ Schultz 499; Hugh McGuire 521; Judy Caudle 98; Marlin Beasley 507t; Juanita Beasley 31b; Thurman Nall 443; Ben Patrick 450; Cleo Murphy and choir “Shouting on the Hill”. The song on page 369 was sung, and Bill Aplin offered the blessing of the food for the noon meal.


After singing “Mercy Seat”, the class was brought to order by Bill Hogan leading 567. Leaders: Richard Graham 143; Christine Gandy 348t; Genny Whitworth 72; Sandy Nicholson 436t; Teddy Creel 319; Voncille Graves 107; Frank Hataway 32t; Harrison Creel 89; Milton Oliver 503; Judy Caudle 500; Wanda Capps 222; Ann Jett and Flarce Creel 39; Elsie Moon 434; Faye Jones 49b; Danny Creel 112; Mike Jones 543; Emily Creel 40; Bridgett Hill 142; Uel Freeman 388; Buena Mae Purvis and Wanda Faye Shumock 440b; Rodney Ivey 220; Nate Green 45b; Joe Nall 414; Cindy Tanner 486; Marion Patrick 358.

After announcements were made, the class sang 45t and shared the hand of fellowship. The day of singing was closed with prayer.

Sunday, January 22

Bill Hogan opened the Sunday morning session leading 32t and 171, then offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: J.A. Mosley 59; Alice Mosley and Nancy Hogan 343; Genny Whitworth 470; Faye Jones 76t, 330t; Frank Hataway 395b; Uel Freeman 62, 63; Milton Oliver 229; Ann Jett and Flarce Creel 518; Elsie Moon 394, 32b; Nate Green and Norma Green 528b, 475; Bud Oliver 42, 563; Wilburn Ellison 264b, 133.


Bill Hogan brought the class to order leading 48t. Leaders: Lera Ellison 47t, 553; Mike Jones 285t, 424; John Etheridge, Rodney Ivey, and Judy Caudle 68t; Loretta Jones 47b, 292b; Gary Smith 336t, 507b; Harrison Creel 54t; Wanda Capps 144; Cindy Tanner and Bridgett Hill 393t, 516.


Bill Hogan brought the class to order leading 74b. Leaders: Wayne Jones 267t, 270; John Merritt 386.

The memorial service was held. The following list of sick and shut-ins was read: Bill Green, Amanda Denson, Edith Tate, Martha Jane Fowler, Emma Mosley, Elsie Beasley, Dick Dunagan, Hibbard Thatcher, Lucien Howell, Eldora Moody, Coy Ivey, Wilton Donaldson, Bob Meek, and Thurman Nall. Hugh McGuire led 183 in honor of these singers.

The following list of singers who passed away in 2005 was read: Pam Hogan, John Hocutt, Homer Whitworth, Hershell King, Sherrie Guthery, Bill McGuire, and Ivalene Donaldson. Bill Hogan led 535t in their memory, and closed the session with prayer.

Leaders: Joe Nall 536, 211; Morgan Bunch 131t, 375; Rodney Ivey 540, 522, 137.

The song on page 369 was sung, and Ernest Cockroft offered the blessing of the food for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order. Leaders: Bridgett Hill 276, 168; Sue Bunch 268t; Marlin Beasley 38t; Sara Smith, Becky Briggs, and Marlin Beasley 488b; Judy Caudle 515; Sandie Scott and Lorraine Myhal 79; Henry McGuire 365; Ernest Cockroft 159; Hubert Nall 217; Becky Briggs 348t; Billy Kelley 558; Ford Bulger 176t; James Gardner 489; Ben Patrick 170; Dana Merritt 486, 358; Juanita Beasley 61.

Announcements were made. J.A. Mosley, Alice Mosley, Genny Whitworth, Bill Hogan, and Nancy Hogan led 72 to share the parting hand. Bill Hogan dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan, Vice Chairman—J.A. Mosley, Secretaries—Alice Mosley and Nancy Hogan.