Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Year’s Day Sacred Harp Singing

Mapperley Village Parish Church, Derbyshire, United Kingdom

Sunday, January 1, 2006

The sixth annual New Year’s Day Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Helen Brown leading 171. Helen welcomed everyone to the singing, led 33b, and offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed: Chair—Helen Brown; Arranging Committee—Dave Richardson; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders.

Leaders: Dave Richardson 30t, 31t; Ruth Steggles 38t, 39t; Chris Brown 38b, 441; Cath Tyler 448b, 168; Judy Whiting 38t (CB), 273; Phil Tyler 385t, 534; Margaret Gillanders 72b, 559 (CB); Bernard Collard 70t, 362.


Dave Richardson re-convened the class leading 54t (CB).

Leaders: Gillian White 128 (CB), 573 (CB); Rosalind Oldham 544 (CB), 488t (CB); Helen Brown 575 (CB); Ruth Steggles 505 (CB); Chris Brown 133 (CB); Cath Tyler 576 (CB); Ruth Steggles (by request) 198. Bernard Collard offered thanks for the noon meal.


Dave Richardson brought the class back to order leading 335.

Leaders: Judy Whiting 367 (CB); Phil Tyler 98 (CB); Margaret Gillanders 199 (CB); Bernard Collard 336t (CB); Gillian White 49t; Ruth Steggles 488b (CB); Chris Brown 127; Cath Tyler 448t.

A memorial lesson was conducted by Gillian White and Simon White.

The following deceased were remembered: Liese Brown, Alec Brown, Mike Walker, Mary Kellaway, Jim Kenyon, John Birmingham, Joe Scurfield, Keith Morris, Gladwys Carlin, Christopher Walker, Barbara Foster, Cynthia Grice, Philip Dodson, John Hocutt, Helen Kirk, Lesley Lang, Chris Chosterton, and Laurette Wojcik.

The names of the following sick and housebound were read: Hazel Walker, Mick Whiting, Vivienne Davinson, James Oss, and R.V. Dunagan. Simon White offered prayer and Helen Brown led 68b in honor and in memory of all those named.


Cath Tyler brought the class to order by leading 155. Leaders: Judy Whiting 474; Helen Brown and Jean Barton 547; Phil Tyler 299; Margaret Gillanders 500 (CB); Bernard Collard 350; Gillian White 147t; Ruth Steggles 478 (CB); Chris Brown 449 (CB); Cath Tyler 430; Dave Richardson 153.

Notices were given and announcements made, after which Helen Brown led “The Christian’s Love” as the closing song. Peter Owen-Jones offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chair—Helen Brown; Arranging Committee—Dave Richardson; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders.