Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Florida State Convention (Cooper Book)

Holiday Inn, Panama City, Florida

December 3-4, 2005

Saturday, December 3

The thirty-eighth session of the Florida State Convention was call to order by Chairman Russ Scholz leading 313, 52t, and 166. The opening prayer was offered by Ernest Cockcroft.

The officers of the convention were as follows with committees appointed: Chairman—Russ Scholz; Vice Chairman—Mike Jones; Second Vice Chairman—John Etheridge; Secretary—Jewell Rowland; Memorial Committee—Stanley Smith and Agnes Farris.

Leaders: Mike Jones 182; John Etheridge 186; Victoria Aplin 159; Jewell Skaggs 143; Aubrey Barfield 220; Teddy Creel 319; Ed Thacker 54t; Frank Strickland 358; Bud Oliver 377t; Faye Jones 47b; Bill Hogan 567; Sue Bunch 511b; Paul King 528b; Elsie Moon 544; Ernest Cockcroft 553; Karen Swenson 336t.


The singing continued with Russ Scholz leading 31t. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 424; David Roberson 384; Marie Guthrie 192; Wayne Jones 270; Eva Padgett 224; John Merritt 240; Nancy Hogan 388; Danny Creel 355; Velton Chafin 86; Liz Bryant 392; Wilburn Ellison 393; Janet King 148; Nate Green and Norma Green 455.


The singing continued with Russ Scholz leading 299. Leaders: Kennon Smith 189; Lera Ellison 47t; Bob Goodman 500; Brenda Merritt 450; Morgan Bunch 306; Juanita Hill 84; Frank Hataway 32t; Margaret Spurlock 112; Joe Nall 543; Tommie Spurlock 503; Loretta Jones 38t; Ernestine Pipkin 276; Bill Farris 401. Russ Scholz led 369. Tommie Spurlock asked the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Russ Scholz leading 39. Leaders: Ellen Gwynn 282; John Etheridge 133 (by request); Teddy Creel 475; Mike Jones 76b; B.J. Gordon 559; Ed Thacker 229; Frank Strickland 505; Bud Oliver 563; Faye Jones 481; Bill Hogan 516; Elsie Moon 414; Danny Creel 404; Wayne Jones 51t; Eva Padgett 536; John Merritt 507t; Agnes Farris 410; Wilburn Ellison 447t.


The class was called to order by Russ Scholz leading 499. Leaders: Velton Chafin 373; Karen Swenson 243b; David Roberson 498t; Lera Ellison 225t; Leon Ballinger 489; Robin Marqules 45t; Sue Bunch 72; Paul King 395b; Brenda Merritt 98; Bob Goodman 293b; Janet King 111b; Kennon Smith 239; Nate Green and Norma Green 436t; Liz Sheppard 60; Loretta Jones 497; Joe Nall 272; Frank Hataway 336b; Morgan Bunch 571; John Etheridge 488 (by special request).

Announcements were made. Chairman Russ Scholz led 323b as the closing song, and Joe Nall dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, December 4

The convention was called to order by Chairman Russ Scholz leading 574 and 49t. The opening prayer was offered by Paul King.

Leaders: Mike Jones 175b, 544; John Etheridge 477; Jewell Rowland 405, 341; Victoria Aplin 337, 122; Aubrey Barfield 168, 36b; Tommie Spurlock 203, 183; B.J. Gordon 478, 500; Ernest Cockcroft 49b, 435; Marie Guthrie 113, 434; Ed Thacker 55, 387; Faye Jones 285t, 225t; Bill Aplin 567.


Russ Scholz led 376 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Tim Jones 120, 424; Brenda Merritt 274t, 282.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Stanley Smith and Agnes Farris. Stanley Smith led 283b for the following deceased who had passed away this past year: Mamie Riley and Alice Williams—Florida; Kelly Beard—Texas; Hershell King, Sherry Guthery, Ivalene Donaldson, Elvin Guthrie, Homer Whitworth, and John Hocutt—Alabama; Charles Jargensen—Arizona; Floyd Peters—Tennessee.

Agnes Farris led 378t in honor or the following sick and shut-ins: Hubert Barfield—Florida; Anne Willis, Wilton Donaldson, Bill Green, Beufa Green, Ginny Whitworth, Coy Ivey, Harold Jacobs, Catherine Jacobs, Harrison Creel, and Flarce Creel—Alabama; Edith Owens -Texas; Bill Windom and Reba Windom—Michigan. The memorial lesson was concluded.

Leaders: David Roberson 101t, 275b; Loretta Jones 54t, 138t; Leon Ballinger 137, 384; Sue Bunch 444t, 38b; Bud Oliver 73t, 42. The class sang 369, and Aubrey Barfield offered the blessing on the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Russ Scholz leading 82. Leaders: John Merritt 486, 174; Velton Chafin 127, 222; Robert Walker 501, 505, 393; Janet King 82, 76b; Chip Westbrook 72, 45t; Nate Green and Norma Green 541; Agnes Farris 345t, 229; Morgan Bunch 30t, 375; Karen Swenson 512, 99; McKenzie Smith 559.


Russ Scholz called the class to order leading 28b. Leaders: Paul King 77t; Joe Nall 171, 461; Bill Farris 358, 111b; Stanley Smith 288 (for Irma Shiver); John Merritt 466 (for Bill Aplin); Karen Swenson 282 (by request).

The officers were appointed, and those who served this year were thanked for their contribution to help make this singing a success. Next year’s officers are as follows: Chairman—Mike Jones; Vice Chairman—John Etheridge; Second Vice Chairman—Stanley Smith.

Announcements were made. All the officers led 495b and 527 as the closing songs. The convention was closed with prayer by Joe Nall.

Chairman—Russ Scholz; Vice Chairman—Mike Jones; Second Vice Chairman—John Etheridge; Secretary—Jewel Rowland.