Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Tennessee State Convention

Second Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Five Points, Tennessee

October 8-9, 2005

Saturday, October 8

The eleventh annual session of the Tennessee State Sacred Harp Convention was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Tim Reynolds leading 47t. Richard Mauldin offered the opening prayer. Selections of songs are from The B.F. White Sacred Harp, 1992 Edition.

Leaders: Tim Reynolds 85; Clayton Ezell 300; Teddy Creel 87; Marjory Norwood, Amanda Denson, and Clayton Ezell 559; Mandy Burchett 229; Henry Guthery 450; Roberta Straus and Anne Drexler 330t; Debbie Sides and John Sides 451; Gary Smith 507b; Harrison Creel 54t; Doris Littrell 358; James M. Wagner 543b; Sandie Scott 408; Emily Creel 140; James S. Wagner 571; Wanda Capps 505.


The class resumed singing with Tim Reynolds leading 508 and 38t; Gordon Wilkinson 220; Richard Mauldin 36b; Sarah Beasley 519b; Angelia Finley, Jessica Finley, J.D. Finley, and Gordon Ezell 572; Heidi Nolan 68t; Danny Creel 355; Henry Guthery 292; Doris Littrell 40; Sarah Smith, Gary Smith, and James M. Wagner 393; Flarce Creel and Wanda Capps 573; Teddy Creel 268t; Danny Creel and Emily Creel 133; Amanda Denson, Richard Mauldin, and Mike Hinton 522, 392; Debbie Sides and John Sides 128; Clayton Ezell “Angel Band” (church book-The Good Old Songs) (by request).

Thelma Elliott, Jean Durham, Mina Belle Gillespie, Wanda Beard, and Tim Reynolds led 132 as the closing song. Danny Creel offered the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, October 9

The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition was used during the Sunday session of the Convention.

Chairman Tim Reynolds called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. leading 49t. Rev. John Edmondson offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Gordon Wilkinson; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett.

Leaders: Tim Reynolds 34b; Gordon Wilkinson 35, 73t; Clayton Ezell 66; Marlin Beasley 75, 448t; Sandie Scott 86, 168; David Carlton 344, 103; Clayton Ezell, Mina Belle Ezell Gillespie, Thelma Ezell Elliott, Jr., Jean Ezell Durham, and Wanda Durham Beard 358, 340; Wilton Donaldson 490, 229; Amanda Denson, Richard Mauldin, and Mike Hinton 319, 333.


The class was called to order by Gordon Wilkinson leading 101t. Leaders: Teddy Creel 335, 477; Doris Littrell 405, 143; John Edmondson 59; John Edmondson and Marcia Edmondson 174; Anne Drexler 63, 45t; Larry Ballinger 84, 384; Margie Norwood 100, 452; Velton Chafin 355.


The class resumed singing with Tim Reynolds leading 192. Leaders: Roberta Straus 47b, 569b; Clay Mattox 124; Glenn Keeton “Joshua”, 163b; Henry Guthery 380, 568; Marilyn Burchett 108t, 277. Mike Hinton offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Tim Reynolds leading 148. Leaders: Juanita Beasley 32t, 61; James Wagner 480, 112; Emily Creel 542, 196.

The memorial lesson was conducted. David Carlton led 303 for the following deceased: Kelly Beard—Texas; Phil Tabor and Austin Burchett—Tennessee; Ivalene Donaldson, John Hocutt, Sherry Guthery, and Hershell King—Alabama.

Doris Littrell led 294 for the following sick and shut-ins: Francis Mattox, Thelma Ezell, and Larry Olszewski—Tennessee; Ophelia Matthews, Myra Palmer, and Edith Owens—Texas; Edith Tate, John Hyde, Josie Hyde, Charlotte McCarn, Julietta Haynes, Elsie Beasley, Dick Mauldin, Charles Creel, and Clarence McCool—Alabama; Carroll Lunsford—California; Brenda Merritt—Mississippi; Pauline Childers—Michigan; Bob Meeks—Kentucky. The memorial was concluded.

Leaders: Richard Mauldin 43 (in honor of John Hyde and Josie Hyde), 129 (in memory of Ivalene Donaldson); Sarah Smith 73t (for Edith Tate); Sarah Smith and Seth Holloway 274t; Harrison Creel, Emily Creel, Danny Creel, Teddy Creel, Flarce Creel, Wanda Capps, and Lucy Heidorn 342; James S. Wagner 159, 300; Lisa Geist 327, “Ashley”; Danny Creel 269; Marcia Edmondson 457; Judy Caudle 564, 345b; Lucy Heidorn 217; Wanda Capps 203; Wanda Capps and Flarce Creel 475; Don Kent and Darlene Kent 268, 178; Gary Smith 225t (in honor of Dr. Bill Reynolds); Gravis Ballinger 120; Seth Holloway 145b, 388; David Carlton 551 (by request of the Clayton Ezell family); Harrison Creel “Mercy Seat”.

Tim Reynolds led 62 as the closing song. Glenn Keeton offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Timothy Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Gordon Wilkinson; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett.