Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Original B.F. White Sacred Harp Singing Convention (J.L. White 1911 Edition)

Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Sunday, September 18, 2005

The annual singing of the Original B.F. White Sacred Harp Convention was held at Hardeman Primitive Baptist Church in Decatur, Georgia on the third Sunday in September. John Plunkett called the class to order leading 59. Ed Thacker offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were previously elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary/Treasurer—Sandra Wilkinson.

Leaders: John Plunkett 49t; Rodney Ivey 99; Sandra Wilkinson 316; Phillip Langley 217; Malinda Snow 191; Rita Haley 168; Annie Reeves 478t; Andy Anderson 137; Sharon Hamrick 276; Bob Goodman 293b; Russ Hanson 186; Martha Harrell 540; Judy Chambless 82t; Lela Crowder 222; Charles Woods 213; Don Clark 512; Ed Thacker 65; Helen Bryson 215; Bobby Jackson 517; John Hollingsworth 291.


John Plunkett reassembled the class leading 481b. Leaders: Wesley Haley 45t; Mike Spencer 283b; Shane Wootten 526; Bud Oliver 73t; Joan Durdin 148; Karen Clark 173; Robert Chambless 519; Oscar McGuire 177; Timothy Haley 384; Judy Caudle 317b; Marvin Reeves 491b; Henry Johnson 111t; Violet Thomason 189; Tony Hammock 101b; Vaudie Sherer 143; Jane Spencer 495. Prayer was offered at the lunch table by John Hollingsworth.


Rodney Ivey brought the class back in session leading 81t. Leaders: Mary Brownlee 496b; Tom Hanson 299; Judy Mincey 54t; Kelly Morris 447t; Raymond Hamrick 490b; Laura Akerman 475; Leslie Hanson 274t; David Grant 500t; Andy Morse 492; Carol Hanson 389t; Richard DeLong 286b; Rebecca Higgins 408; Alice West 277.

Helen Bryson conducted the memorial lesson and led 49b, 36b, and 26 in the back of the book for the deceased, as well as the sick and shut-ins.

The deceased remembered were Quentin Watts, Douglas Faith, Berta Hanson, Robert Collier, Mae Ragsdale, Beulah Robertson, Preston McClendon, Naomi Sailors, and Elvera Lee—Georgia; Ivalene Donaldson—Alabama; Kelly Beard—Texas.

The sick and shut-ins included Carroll Lunsford, Hillman Ryan, Zola Ryan, Bill Green, Beufa Green, and Cora Lou Wagner. The memorial was closed with prayer by John Plunkett.


John Plunkett brought the class to order leading 487t. Leaders: Henry Johnson 70b; Ellie Soler 300; Don Clark 348; Judy Caudle 544t; Marvin Reeves 509; Karen Clark 504; Shane Wootten 505; Ed Thacker 110; Annie Reeves 328; Bobby Jackson 341; Violet Thomason 192; Rodney Ivey 486t (for Billy Hollingsworth); Russ Hanson 511; Oscar McGuire 522; Mary Brownlee 151; Tom Hanson 387.

Following announcements, John Plunkett led 60 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Henry Johnson.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary/Treasurer—Sandra Wilkinson.